Today's music?

The Presidents of the United States of America - "Love Everybody" (2004- PUSA Records)...Might be their best yet!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 - 8:23 p.m.

Replacing the old T-Fal Dutch oven�.plus- playing around with my old Canon Rebel filters on my digital�

BTW- thanks for the kind thoughts you sent my way via the Internet. My Dad (and the rest of my family) is doing well. Lease and I went to the visitation; my sister went to the funeral. That is what my Dad asked us to do (he didn�t think either of us should go to both).

I found out today why we stopped our regular visits with my Uncle and his family.

Not surprisingly, it was because of my mom, and her actions back when I was in the 6th grade.

If you don�t know what I am talking about, you might be able to figure out by reading back in my older entries. If you know me at all in the non-Internet world, you know where I am coming from.

And yes, my Uncle was buried wearing his favorite Chicago Cubs shirt, and a brand new Cubs home baseball cap was sent with him.

That�s the way he wanted it�


The old T-Fal 8 quart Dutch oven I have used for the last 9 years or so for making my jams, and for cooking big batches of jambalaya and such has reached the end of the road.

The pot is no longer round. More egg-shaped than anything, from being roughly handled and the high heat it has been exposed to, I guess.

That, and the non-stick coating that was layered inside of this pot has mostly chipped away. Hopefully, there isn�t anything cancer-causing in that material.

Anyway�

I started looking for another of these perfectly sized pots in the local stores about a month ago. Nothing even close was to be found. The biggest Dutch ovens I could find (in either open stock or sets) was 5 quart. Nice, if you are making small pots of soup or single batches of jam.

I don�t make single batches of anything anymore.

I tried the My Simon web site first, hoping to find the T-Fal pot there.

One little problem- anyone who listed it then stated that it was discontinued.

Oh well- there is always Ebay, right?

Wrong.

I spent 2 weeks trying every combination of search words, but never had a hit for this pot.

I then started looking for something the same size from another company. Finally, I decided that Calphanon made the perfect replacement product.

The call it a 8.5 quart saucier. It is a little bit squatter than my old Dutch oven, but otherwise it fits what I need. It has a broader base and shorter sides than a traditional stock pot. That is important when making jam because you want to spread the heat as rapidly as possible throughout the pot.

After bidding on and loosing 5 of these auctions over the last 4 days (all went for around $50 before shipping- the list price for the saucier is $180 btw), I decided to go back to My Simon again and see what I could pick it up for from a real store.

How about under $40, with free shipping?

Sometimes, Ebay is not the best bargain out there�


I have a bunch of filters that were fro the base lens on my old Canon Rebel camera (53mm base?). Since I don�t use that camera much anymore, they don�t get out of their cases a lot.

I used the misty spot when shooting the photographs of my friends Roby and Jill�s daughters last fall, holding the old filter up against the Minolta�s lens. They turned out fine, IMHO.

But I forgot about some of the other filters until after I took the photos of the caterpillars in my front garden bed last week.

Actually, I thought about them at work today. Don�t know why- my old brain just works that way sometimes.

I once bought a bunch of discontinued Hoya glass filters from a classified ad at the back of a photography magazine. One that I hardly ever used was the +4 magnification lens that he practically gave to me. It was just one filter from what should have been a set of 4 different magnifications filters (+1, +2, +3, and�well- you get it).

After remembering that old filter at work today, I decided to play around with it once I came home.

Here are 2 shots I made with it:

Cross cut of one of my �Redwing� red onions (consumed on sausages for tonight�s dinner).

Sick of sunflower shots yet? No?

This is the center of one of the blooms from the very tall sunflower plant in this photo .

It just keeps cranking out new flowers. They are much smaller than the standard sunflowers in all of those other photos I have posted here this summer (Is this the year of the sunflower here at Roadiepigland or what? Sould I stop posting photos of these flowers ?)

I think this filter will come in handy down the road (even if I have to hold it up to the camera, since the lens size isn�t compatible with the filter). It now sits in the bottom of my digital camera case, along with the misty spot I like to use so much.

Never know when the moment will call out for one of these �toys��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top