Today's music?

The Presidents of the United States of America - "Love Everybody" (2004- PUSA Records)...Might be their best yet!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Aug. 24, 2004 - 8:43 p.m.

I guess nature solved this problem for me?�plus- a photo snatched from a website that snatched it from another website�

Remember that tall wild sunflower growing in my back yard? The one I was waiting to stop blooming, so I could remove it from the ground?

I guess it finally became a little too top heavy. It was resting in this position before the rains came today. I would have cleaned it up tonight after I came home from work, but thunderstorms kept me inside.

I just shot this photo, as the sun was setting. Weird colors, eh? Must have been all of the moisture, still in the horizon, reflecting the sunset�


Made a big batch of apple butter when I came home today. I picked a 5-gallon bucket full of right-of-way apples last Thursday. These are from the tree growing on my snow route, right in front of Wallyworld.

Yes, on the state right of way. Not on anyone�s private property.

This tree has produced apples in 8 of the last 9 years (since I found out it was growing there). The only �miss� year was 3 years ago, the spring of the very late frost. This caused it to drop its buds, eliminating any chance for a crop.

I think I found out what variety this tree is, btw. A seller at the downtown farmer�s market last weekend had a basket full of ripe apples that looked just like the ones I picked a couple of days before. He told me that they were "Gala" apples, one of the earliest ripening varieties you can grow around here.

For some reason, the insects that bother other apples around here leave the fruit of this tree alone. You might find one damaged apple out of 20. Very low percentage, when you factor in that nobody sprays this tree with pesticides.

15 half pints canned, along with another 6 unprocessed tonight. I still have over half a bucket of apples left. This, even after Lease made me a great bundt cake with a few more of them last Sunday.

Made the apple butter in my new 8.5-quart pot. It arrived in the daily UPS shipment yesterday.

This brazier (as the maker calls it) did the job fine. Since the pot is made with non-stick hard-anodized steel (as opposed to something applied to the surface, like Teflon�), I don�t have to worry about chipping particles loose and into whatever I am making.

The sales pitch for the brazier stated, �this pot will last you the rest of your life!�.

Hopefully, they plan on me living a long time�


Was on one of those �random photograph from a website� err... websites tonight? I won�t link it here, because the folks who run the site say it best in their warning page, �Everyone underestimates this warning. We aren't kidding.

In case you're slow - this site is NOT work safe.

In other words- since the site is totally automated, and they have no control over what gets posted. There are a few too many nude/gross/offensive images.

That said? There is also plenty of interesting stuff, too.

I imagine this one has been around for a while, but I haven�t seen it before tonight. Since I thought it was creative, I copied it myself, so I could post it here:

Probably get hit with a lawsuit for posting it ��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top