Today's music?

The Presidents of the United States of America - "Love Everybody" (2004- PUSA Records)...Might be their best yet!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Aug. 29, 2004 - 8:47 p.m.

The Lost Weekend�(no, this has nothing to do with Ray Milland)�

Although there was alcohol involved, this (short) entry has nothing to do with the classic Billy Wilder film (according to the AMG- �the searing portrait of an alcoholic features an Oscar-winning performance by Ray Milland� for those of you who have no idea where I am coming from).

Right now, I have a bunch of anger at my (don�t make any stereotypes here) mom.

Why?

How about because she lied to me about her plans for this weekend, and what she expected of me?

How about springing the fact she wanted to spend the night here on us at 7 pm last night. This, after not letting me know that she even wanted to spend a night here?

How about this? She went to her favorite Catholic church here in Mohall today (since she is SUCH a religious person), and then showed BACK UP HERE AFTER THE SERVICE, after telling us she had other plans for the day.

And then�.then? She sat in my recliner, reading the Mohall Sunday paper for 3 FUCKIN� HOURS!

Did I mention that she never asked what WE had planned for the day? And that she asked me around 3 pm why Lease and I DECIDED TO SKIP THE WEEKLY WALLYWORD RUN TODAY?!?

UN- FUCKIN�- BELIEVABLE!

I did NOT come from the womb of this self-absorbed woman.

No way.

I need to hit the sack. We (gladly) baby-sat our grandniece Riley last night. Shawn and Tara (her parents) picked her up about 2:10 am. Riley didn�t want to go to sleep, so she was still wide awake at the time.

And so was I.

My mom?

She was sound asleep at 11 pm.

I was up at 9, taking the dogs outside and working on breakfast.

While my mom was at her blessed church, being all pious and such.

Did I mention the reason for her trip to Mohall this week?

She is having surgery on her back in a couple of weeks. On the first day of Lease and my once a year vacation.

She has put off this surgery several times. Make that MANY times in the past 6 months.

Oh yeah- she told me that since we will be heading somewhat in the direction of the location of the hospital where she is having her surgery (only about 2 hours out of the way!), she hinted that we should stop by on our way to the town where our vacation cabin is located.

After the crap she pulled this weekend (3 hours to read the paper? Why didn�t she just TELL US that she had somewhere to be at 4 pm, and wanted to kill time at our house? Huh? Wouldn�t YOU do that?), I don�t think she will be seeing us anytime near the day she has her surgery.

Does this make me a selfish person?

No.

No, it doesn�t.

A mother who decides her sex life (with my 6th grade teacher, btw-when I have 5 months of that grade to go before I can get away from that horrible situation) is more important than being involved in the lives of, let alone raising her OWN CHILDREN is in no position to be angry at either of her offspring, when she decides they should wait on her hand and foot 30 years later.

The biggest mistake I have made in my adult life was letting her back into my life just before my son was born. I did this, because I thought my son should know his grandmother, and that she would have the chance to get to see him.

19+ years later?

She has alienated him so much he does everything he can to avoid her. She just doesn�t get why, either (that situation would take far too long to explain here today).

Come September 10th (the start of our yearly vacation)?

I will give my mom a phone call at the hospital. I won�t let her, at that time, guilt me into feeling bad about not spending my vacation sitting in a chair by her bed after her surgery.

Instead, Lease and I will be headed to the Great Smokey Mountains.

And I won�t let my mom�s attempts to make me feel like I am an unworthy son bother me one bit�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top