Today's music?

silence....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 20, 2004 - 9:11 p.m.

Call this part 1 of �My vacation, in photo essay format� (sorry if it is slow to load on your computer�)

My desire to write here has almost completely abated. Time constraints, along with fatigue, have made this effort more a chore than something I enjoy.

Not abandoning D-land. It�s just that right now (and for the last few weeks, for that matter) I can�t for the life of me come up with the ability to string words together into sentences and paragraphs.

Stop laughing. I know my limitations as a writer, and freely admit them here.

Once the garden finally dies from frost and freeze, and my related time consuming activities (especially canning, which continues at a crazy pace even at this late date) comes to an end, I will be in the mood to share more on this page.

Maybe I will be motivated next week.

Don�t know. But for today, I just want to leave you with vacation photos that (almost) speak for themselves.

In other words? A bunch of photos, with small captions for explanation.

Sorry. That�s all I have for now�


This photo was shot from the top of the driveway for the only cabin higher in elevation that ours, early Tuesday morning. It�s too bad a few more limbs weren�t removed from the dead and dying trees in front of our site- then you could see the awesome view we had.


How�s that for a steep driveway? Every time I drove the Vibe down this hill, rocks slipped under the tires. Going up was a strain on the 4-cylinder engine too.

You have to remember one thing, if you think I am making a big deal out of this foothill of the Smoky mountains- we are life-long �flatlands� resident. Everything there seemed like Mt. Everest to us�


Lease took this shot from the inside of a �through the mountains� tunnel we drove through each time we left Gatlinburg. The original photo was very orange (due to the lighting). I flipped the hue, and this color of blue appeared instead.


Sign marking the boundary of the national park.

I like the �International Biosphere Reserve� designation, too.

Sounds so much cooler than �Trees and Hills�, doesn�t it?


This creek runs alongside several apartment buildings in downtown Gatlinburg, Tennessee. There are so many creeks and rivers running every which way in this town, it�s hard to tell where they all start and end.

I set my camera on manual, and slowed the shutter down to cause the �blur� effect on the cascading water. That was what I was aiming for, anyway�

This is the only area that I landed any fish , too We did each catch several very small suckers (3�- 4� long each) at another spot later on Tuesday. But just to the left of this shot , in a small , slow pool, is where I caught my only �wild� trout. I think it was an immature Brook Trout, which are protected in the area (all catch and release only).

Here is that one, $40+ dollar trout(shown actual size, too):

Pretty sad, huh? And notice his lip- damaged from another encounter with a hook in the recent past.

At least I caught A trout�

To fish inside of the city limits of Gatlinburg (but outside of the National Park area) requires two fishing licenses. I bought each for both of us (3-day all Tennessee permit included), at a cost of over $40.

We fished for about 2 hours on Tuesday, I tossed my line into the waterfall�s pool on Wednesday, and it rained so hard on Thursday (when we were in route and at Nashville- more on that later this week) I didn�t even put a line into the water.

That�s some pretty expensive fishing.

Luckily for Lease and I, the fishing was much better on Friday and Saturday in the Shawnee National Forest, in southern Illinois�


One last shot:

Lease and I, sitting on the wall of some fort-like monument (sorry- didn�t notice the name) near the top of the public area of the main road running through the park.

We had just returned from a 1.7-mile hike, each way, on the Appalachian Trail. In other words? We were worn out, sweaty, and slightly red faced.

Not a great photo of me, anyway. Lease looks great, as always.

Just look at the mountains in the background. That�s what I wanted to capture in this shot anyway�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top