Today's music?

silence....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 9:11 p.m.

The one photo that is required, if you visit Gatlinburg, Tennessee�. Plus- what makes the toll takers on the New Jersey turnpikes so angry?

Last night after work?

I made 10 quarts of tomato sauce (spaghetti sauce, actually).

Tonight?

11 pints of cinnamon spiced sugar ( a Bosc-type, I am sure) pears.

I had no plans on making either. The tomatoes were a surprise (2 almost full 5-gallon buckets of ripe fruit, between my two gardens). I just can�t waste peak of the season, full of flavor, ripe tomatoes.

Even though I didn�t feel up to the work , I made the sauce(including an hour of processing, and another 3 hours of checking on/stirring the pot as the sauce reduced. I froze the end product, mainly because I can�t be too sure of the ph of the sauce. Botulism is something I try to avoid).

The pears?

Brought to me by a co-worker this morning. He found the tree growing on the right-of-way on our local Interstate earlier this summer while mowing the grass. Last night (after work, for those keeping track), he drove out to the tree and harvested most of the fruit. He brought me a large black trash bag full of pears.

Of which, maybe 20% were worth running through the peeler. The rest were either too bug-damaged (never a good thing, if you plan on slicing and canning fruit) or so ripe they were soft.

What was left was tasty enough to be worth the effort. I used the Ball Bluebook recipe for �Cinnamon Spiced� pears. One jar didn�t seal, so I will be able to see how they taste tomorrow.

Oh-about tomorrow?

My 43rd birthday. And for the first time in 5 nights I won�t be canning ANYTHING!

Although I still have plenty of hot peppers that need to be made into pepper jam or hot sauce. And I still haven�t thrown together a few jars of rhubarb jam yet, either.

Not this weekend, though. Unless the Bears are getting their butts kicked on Sunday, anyway�..




I almost forgot to post the one required photograph from our (and anyone else�s) Gatlinburg vacation- the shot they take of you once you reach the top of the �ski lift� ride in downtown:



And before you make any smart-assed comments? The dark shadow in my, um, crotch area? That is the lens cap from my digital camera.

Not an �accident�.

OK?

Stop laughing�




I�ll leave you with a link to a (sadly) funny set of web pages from the Smokinggun.com.

Somehow, they managed to get their hands on a bunch filed formal complaints against tollbooth workers on the New Jersey Turnpikes.

What these taxpayer-paid individuals did to their �customers� is inexcusable.

Funny, too.

Click here to read almost 20 pages of complaints.

And don�t forget to click on the link on this page to the complaints filed against Massachusetts and New York toll workers too.

They are doing their best to keep up with their New Jersey counterparts�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top