Today's music?

The Format - "Interventions and Lullabyes" (2003- Elektra Records)...good, all-American pop-rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004 - 8:32 p.m.

It was 44 years ago today�

My sister was born. Less than one year later, I popped up as her �Irish Twin�.

Never heard that phrase before?

Since I am truly 1/4th Irish, I can use it. It refers to siblings born less than 1 year apart. You know- Irish Catholic, no birth control (oh yeah, I forgot- the �rhythm� method.

That�s why I am here.

Because it doesn�t work.

(Might explain why I like music though, eh?)

Anyway�

My �big� sister was born on this day back in 1960. As children, we always got enjoyment out f the fact that we were the same age for all of 12 days each and every year.

It didn�t take much to entertain us�.


So, about the photograph below?

When my mom divorced my Dad (back in 1973), she decided she �deserved� all of our childhood photographs. So, being the self-centered person that she was, she took them.

All of them.

Left my dad with a handful of out-of-focus shots covering the first 12 years of my life (13 of my sister, for that matter). No baby photos. Very few from the first decade+ of my life, for that matter.

I think this was one of her attempts to hurt my dad. But by doing this, she also stole our childhood memories, too.

About 3 years ago, Lease kinda brought this up with my mother (on one of her wonderful visits here in Mohall). She mentioned that she had never seen any baby pictures of me, let alone any other childhood photo (besides the few bad shots my Dad has in his possession) . She asked her why she has never seen any other photos of my childhood.

For once, my mom couldn�t come up with a quick lie to cover her actions. So� she told Lease she would put together an album of some of the �extra� shots she had lying around her bi-level in Kentucky.

Les than a year later (fast, ain�t she?), she gave me a $1.99 Dollar General Store album, partially filled with a few of my childhood photographs.

Not great, but at least she pried her claws off of 30 or so of my early childhood shots.

Two things come to mind whenever I look at these photographs:

1.- she usually managed to chop my sister off of one side or the other of each photograph. Whether by accident or on purpose, she couldn�t seem to put her in the same frame with me.

2.- Unless she has a treasure trove of better shots horded away in her lair, she couldn�t take decent snapshots.
At all.
As in- most of these photos are out of focus, poorly composed, or both.

I swear- one of the photos has �� tall versions of us in the bottom left-hand corner, and the remaining 97% of the frame is of my Grandmother� drapes.

Maybe she liked the drapes. It�s been a long time, so I don�t know if they matched the carpet�


Anyway�.

My sister mentioned to me a few weeks ago how much it bothers her that she has no photographs from our childhood.

Why I never thought about this before that moment, but at least I am not tottaly dense.

I scanned any and all photographs that had both of us in them. I then burned them onto a cd-rom.

This was only a small part of her birthday present (I managed to trade Moose a boxful of salsa and jam for one of his homemade �crows�, made from old metal shovels and bike frames, and another small garden item), but I think she enjoyed the .10�, homemade cd the most.

Here is our �Campbell�s Soup Kids� shot, taken in the summer of 1962:

Stop laughing�.


One last thing�

Last night, during the vice-presidential debate, Dick Cheney mentioned a website (and gave it as .com, instead of the right .org, btw)- Factcheck.com.

If you went to that site, you ended up at a �hate-Bush� site run by George Soros, one of the major fund-providers of Moveon.org and not a big fan of the pres.

In other words- not the site the vice president wanted you to see.

Anyway�

I have had Factcheck.org listed in my bookmarks for the past several months. It is a very non-partisan site that tries to wade through all of the bullshit both parties try to get you to believe for the presidential election.

They pull no punches, and are happy to point out when each of the major candidates tries to pull the wool over the masses eyes.

If you really have an open mind (in other words- if you haven�t already decided that the other party�s candidate is Lucifer incarnate), this is one Website worth checking in on every few days, heading into the very important election this November.

That is, if you can stand to find out that YOUR rich white male presidential candidate might not be telling the WHOLE truth.

Wouldn�t want something as minor as the FACTS to change your mind, right?

Sorry- the venom, hate speech, and sarcasm from both sides this election has worn really thin on me lately.

Not that I think anyone else has a different opinion on this subject�..


Maybe I should leave this (first entry in several days) with a recent photograph;

What is in this photograph?

Well�

My foot (bottom left).

Part of Jay-Dog�s face (bottom right).

And a single volunteer purple petunia, growing in the back yard (top right).

How did it end up growing there?

I am not sure. I haven�t grown purple petunias out back since 2002. It decided to sprout in the area I have been trying to get grass seed to grow since the patio was poured in May. The grass has came up and died twice (planting of grass seed #3-perrenial ryegrass this time- was made last weekend).

Can�t get grass to take hold, but beautiful purple flowers manage to sprout up and bloom in this same area on their own.

Maybe I just need to broadcast sow petunia seeds on the hillside?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top