Today's music?

silence....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 07, 2004 - 10:53 p.m.

Un-fuckin�-believable!

The fishing after work tonight?

Like the title said- unbelievable!

Not at first- I only caught 1 fish in the first 30 minutes at the Wilburn creek access area on B.A.C.E. Lake.

I talked to an old-timer, fishing in the same spot Lease and I landed 50 or so decent White bass on Sunday (along with 2 big Drum Perch, and a 10 pound Carp that took me 25 minutes to bring to the shore- I didn�t have the time to write about that here on Monday, and let it slide until now, but�), and he said �they aren�t biting! I have been down here for an hour, and have only caught a few�

I am just glad I didn�t listen to him�.

I leap-frogged him (no, that isn�t anything dirty- I just passed him on the bank) to fish the actual beach to the west.

I managed to land a couple more fish using the same two jig rig Lease and I had so much success with only 5 days ago.

But one thing caught my eye- thought the waves, I noticed that fish were breaking the surface further out from where I was casting.

I had my other rod rigged with a � ounce spinner. That lure shouldn�t have worked this late in the season, but since it weighed more than my jigs, I gave it a shot.

I caught 3 keeper Whites on my first 4 casts.

And that was just the start.

I stopped keeping all but the larger fish after 15 minutes. I had 10 nice fish in the bucket by then.

In the next hour and 20 minutes, I averaged at least 1 fish per minute. I only threw deep hooked (and soon to die) fish, along with a few more very large fish into my bucket. I cleaned 19 nice fish at the fish cleaning station before I left. On top of that, I threw back at least 50 more fish that would have been keepers on any other day, along with another 50 or so smaller ones.

No exaggeration- at least 100 fish were caught by yours truly in the next 80 minutes.

How did I manage this, when the majority of the larger fish were away from the bank?

Simple- I removed my shoes, and waded knee deep into early October waters to get myself close enough to the fish.

No way I would have done this in November. I would have ended up with frostbite.

But since the weather has been so unseasonably warm, the water felt like early September instead of early October.

I was ready to leave at that time, but I couldn�t quit as long as the fish were striking so aggressively. As of this moment, I have at least three fingers with raw skin (from removing hooks for released fish), along with having both arms sore from fighting these strong fish.

Lease and I have the next 4 days off.

She already wants to go back to the beach tomorrow. Since a cold front is approaching, the fishing won�t be as good the next few days as it was tonight; I think we would be wise to wait a little bit.

So I told her that Sunday or Monday would be better bets for more great fishing.

No doubt about one thing- we will be back down there before we head back to work on Tuesday,

Right now? I don�t know when that will be for sure.

When we do make it back, and if the fish are biting? You will be the first to know�


Since I get HBO here at Casa Roadiepig, I watch most all of their premium programs every week.

I have tried to watch the humor of the following, but his anger is all I see�


I keep hearing about what a great political commentator Bill Maher is. How witty he is, and how he brings people who don�t agree with him to their knees.

I think this photograph sums up his �highbrow� humor to a tee:

Yeah, that�s telling them, isn�t it?

Funny guy (or so I keep being told)�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top