Today's music?

Breaking Benjamin - "We Are Not Alone" (2004 - Hollywood Records) Great, under-heard hard rock....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2004 - 9:56 p.m.

Cool�

(The following was in yesterday�s �Top Five� newsletter. I wish I had thought of it myself, but since we are soooo busy here, preparing for the Halloween Eve wedding, I haven�t had time to, well, think�)

Baseball history will be made on Oct. 27 when for the first time,a total lunar eclipse will occur during a World Series game.

In 1985, a lunar eclipse occurred the day after the final game of the World Series in which the Kansas City Royals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals. Then in 1986, another lunar eclipse occurred the day before the start of the series in which the New York Mets beat the Boston Red Sox. Drawing from this, we can safely conclude that both St. Louis and Boston will lose this year's World Series.
(John Marien)


That said�

Our forecast for this evening�s eclipse was bleak- 100% chance of cloud cover.

Mist was falling as we drove home from Rube and Sam�s house in nearby Harrytown. The sky was completely covered with low-lying clouds.

So I figured we would miss this one.

I took Jay-Dog outside around 8:45, and to my surprise the clouds had partially lifted. The sky wasn�t clear, by any means. But there were gaps here and there, allowing the partially eclipsed moon to pop out every few seconds.

The �Blood moon�, or full eclipse as I read it described today, wasn�t to happen until 9:12, so I went inside and got the camera and tripod ready. After setting everything up, I just waited.

And the skies cleared away long enough for me to capture this:

Pretty nice, but not totally clear due to the passing clouds. Each exposure took 2 seconds, so some were almost dark by the time the camera focused and the shutter tripped.

But this one came out without any cloud-related issues:

Yeah, it is a little blurry. I�m not shooting with a $2000 SLR-type digital camera, you know?

But the color is true. I didn�t do anything to this photo besides cropping and a little sharpening.

I�m just glad the clouds decided to break up long enough for me to see this somewhat rare event�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top