Today's music?

34 Satellite - "Stop" - (2001 - Hideaway Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Nov. 03, 2004 - 9:23 p.m.

Chopping off heads (no, that has nothing to do with yesterday�s election)�plus-yesterday�s fishing report�

First off- am I getting bad about updating this thing or what? It�s not like I have large chunks of spare time, but you would think after 1100+ entries that I could at least �scribble� a few lines and post something, right?

I plan on working on that. The cold weather is coming, after all. Most of my outdoor hobbies and chores are about to slow down to just a trickle. It�s dark by 5 now anyway, so maybe�



I finally finished up the editing on the wedding photographs. I ended up with 308 different color frames, with 119 of those also converted to black and white .

Why black and white?

Because I think the wedding setting lends itself to that format. There is something classic about the stark contrast you get working without color. And since this was a Halloween-themed wedding, complete with costumes, black and white worked well for that reason, too:

See what I mean? Even though I am not the smallest bit a fan of slasher horror flics, that doesn�t mean I don�t get the symbolism of Jason Vs. Freddie�


The chopping heads off part? Nothing to do with the aforementioned.

No, this is what happens when I crop a photograph without taking dimensions into consideration. After editing over 300 photos, you can understand how I could mess up the shape of a few, right?

I burned a cd of many of the photos after work tonight and took it to the local Walgreens one-hour photo lab. On this disc I had 8 of my favorite photos from the weekend, especially cropped so that they would fit an 8�x10� print. These 8 files required my patience and a little trial and error (using my PhotoElf program�s print feature to re-measure the cropped photo before I saved to file). For that reason, what I picked up an hour later was exactly what I sent them, without any lost information.

I also include another 180 photo files on this order. Since I wanted to see them printed on true photo paper BEFORE my niece and her new husband saw them, I just copied them in their �edited� form to the cd-r, and let the lab print them whatever way the wanted to do so.

Or at least however their automated machine did the job.

So�.

I found out which photos I cropped too severely with no problem. I think there might be 10 or so where one or more of the subjects were violently decapitated, or had an arm or a leg chopped off via printing of the frame.

Easy enough to fix- I just have to go back into the folder and use the PhotoElf program to re-crop each one.

Better to find out now, and then have a surprise when they open up the envelope later�


Looks like we dodged a bullet in yesterday�s election.

No, I am not referring to George Bush�s win.

I meant avoiding another �Florida� fiasco, this time in Ohio. By graciously conceding the race WITHOUT bringing another 10,000 lawyers into the mix, John Kerry should have gained the respect of even the most die-hard right-winger out there. After spending the past 18 months calling their opponents everything by Satan, both men today sounded the cry for ending the bitterness and partisan backbiting that both men�s party loyalists had fomented.

At least that�s the way I interpreted their speeches. Maybe you don�t see things the same way.

Maybe you enjoy hearing people attack the other guy as �evil�, �A liar�, or that you �hate� them.

I just don�t see things that way.

And I don�t think that kind of speech does ANYTHING to advance society in any way. You totally have my blessing to say it, though. Even if I don�t subscribe to your beliefs, I�m all for your right to open your mouth and insert both of your feet, if that makes you happy�



One last item (related to the election):

I think just about everyone can agree on the hope that our troops are out of Iraq as soon as possible. Bush kept using 2 years as his goal, Kerry 4 years.

Either way, the war isn�t going away any time soon. My nephew is being called up by the National Guard in January, and will be deployed into that rock-strewn Hellhole sometime in early spring. He will miss his son�s first birthday while he dodges sniper bullets and car bombs for a living.

No, I am not happy about this one bit. He was out of the Marines for 2 years before rejoining the Army as a N.G.

It was his decision. I tried to convince him that he had already done his part by serving in the Marines, but he joined up anyway.

I guess he was just doing what he thought was right. And I have to stand behind his decision.

Don�t mean I won�t be worried about his ass every day until he comes home�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top