Today's music?

Breaking Benjamin - "We Are Not Alone" (2004 - Hollywood Records) Great, under-heard hard rock....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004 - 8:13 p.m.

Late season garden bonus�.

Came home from work tonight, and decided to make chicken breast meat into stovetop chicken fajitas. Simple to make- just bake boneless chicken breasts, seasoned with fajita dry mix, fresh lime and lemon juice, and Sunny D� (usually orange juice, but none was thawed at the time). Bake at 375� for 45 minutes (the meat was frozen). Let cool, pull apart by hand, and return to the stovetop in a saucepan with more of the seasoning and juice.

Very easy, and tastes pretty good too.

Anyway�

I also roasted 4 nice poblano peppers in the broiler before I cooked the chicken.

Where did they come from?

They were still growing on my sad looking pepper plants in the backyard garden.

I also picked 3 ripe yellow tomatoes (�Orange Husky� is the variety, I think) from one of the few tomato plants that I haven�t already pulled and recycled for the year.

And�

I picked about 20 �Viva Paste� Roma paste-type tomatoes, all still green (to be either breaded and deep fried, or saved to ripen inside for Thanksgiving dinner).

Add to that the 7 green and red bell peppers also gathered (�Gypsy� and �California Wonder�), and you have a pretty nice harvest basket for one day.

One day in September, that is.

Today is November 4.

We had a killing frost at my work garden back in mid-September. That one missed my home garden. Heat island effect, I�m sure.

We have had a couple of light frosts at work since that date, but it hasn�t fallen below 32� here at Casa Roadiepig since late April, almost 7 months ago!

The only forecasted low below 32� in the 7 day outlook is tonight. And that is as low as it is supposed to get.

There should still be enough residual heat from the day�s heating to protect my remaining plants so they live another day.

But I picked the green tomatoes , just in case there isn�t�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top