Today's music?

Bronx Style Bob - "Grandma's Ghost ( 1992 - Sire Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 08, 2004 - 7:49 p.m.

Sick, so I�ll make this short (with photos)�

I have spent the last 3 days trying to fight off a nasty sinus bug. This mindless bringer of misery has struck many in both Lease and my workplaces, even sending one of the temporary lead workers to the hospital over the weekend (after he passed out on his bathroom floor).

Seems a little early to have to be dealing with this, even for North Dakota. Since I take maintenance meds for both asthma and allergies, it doesn�t take much for one of these viruses to mess up my world.

That said�

I spent about 3 hours on Saturday pulling the last of the summer crop plants from the home garden. It would have taken less time, but I was easily winded and sweating like crazy, even though it was only 48� at the time. Codeman wasn�t able to help until yesterday. I don�t think I could have completed the job without his help on Sunday.

We tilled both of my gardens. Spread 12-12-12 ,pelletized lime, and bagged leaves over the soil before hitting it with the tiller. Not as good as adding composted horse manure. I just couldn�t find time last month to haul it, and the horse owner decided to spread it over his pasture rather than wait for my arrival.

Oh well- at least my pickup won�t smell quite as bad as it usually does this time of year�


Before pulling the remaining plants, I took a quick look around for unusual photo subjects. Here are a few things that caught my eye:

Found these tiny impatiens plants blooming in the small expansion crack area of the new patio. They had to come from fallen seeds from the plants in the hanging baskets on the back of our home. I haven�t had many of these pop up before this summer (much tougher to start from seed than most bedding flowers). For some reason, I have had several areas produce bastard offspring all summer.

Here is a shot that shows how small these volunteers are:


Some sort of flying insect (tiny bee?) working on the pollen from a pink dahlia:


A tiny Ladybug, confused but still alive,crawling on the stem of a butterfly bush. The late arrival of a killing freeze this fall has given him a few more days to do whatever it is that Ladybugs do for entertainment:


I really hated pulling these marigolds. They were still kicking out a nice display. The blooms are small, typical for French marigolds. But the plants are huge, some taller than 2�, and all were covered with many blooms. I will have to check my seed bag this winter to figure out the variety (tag was gone). I would like to grow this f1 hybrid again next summer:

Yes, they almost appear to be made of velvet. Deep maroon, with some petals striped and some solid on each plant, this one is a keeper�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top