Today's music?

Syleena Johnson - "Chapter 1: Love,Pain, and Forgiveness (2000 - Jive Records) If you grew up in the 70's you should like



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2004 - 8:40 p.m.

�Job Security��.plus- what was crawling on my patio tonight?

First off�

A former lead worker at our storage still keeps in touch with me via email. Since he used to live in the small town at the north end of my snowplow route, I used to pass him each and every snowstorm as he headed to Mohall for supplies.

A little while back, he moved closer to town (he has disabilities, so living closer to the metropolis of Mohall made sense to him), so I now only cross path with him on rare occasions.

In other words- we were coworkers. Not close friends.

I have to admit I got along better with him near the time he was reaching retirement. He could be a hard man to get along with in his younger years, but I tried. I think his years as an Army drill instructor never left him.

In other words? He tried to get new employees to behave like new recruits. Since most of us (back when I was hired) weren�t from a military background, we didn�t fall into his style of training/discipline.

In other words- most of the guys hired around the time as me didn�t play his games. For that reason we were always in his �doghouse�.

It took a heart attack, and then a serious foot injury for him to mellow out enough to finally get along with most of the force. By then, some of the guys had no use for him.

Me, being me, made an effort. So for the past 6 or 7 years (with the first 4 or 5 with him being on disability before full retirement with the early out incentives 2 years ago) I have been on pretty good terms with him.

Too bad it took that long. Or that he couldn�t have been more human for the 15 or so years prior to that.

Background info�.

Like I said- we communicate via email on a pretty regular basis. Today, he sent me the following .gif image.

The original title of the file was �Your government at work�.

I prefer to title I gave it (in order to save it, I had to rename it. Too many �$&!� In the original to be saved for my web service/storage place)�

�Job Security�

This is a catchall phrase for any task that never goes away, making our jobs necessary.

I think that describes the image better.

Don�t you?


Speaking of government suck-ass jobs�

I am off tomorrow.

Veteran�s Day, don�t cha know?

I still am about 15� or so �below the weather�. I hoped to spend part of the day fishing, but with 25mph winds from the north, along with rain forecasted- I really don�t know what I will do right now.

I know- y�all have to work, so you don�t feel my pain.

I understand.

Maybe I will take my closest veteran relative to lunch (that would be my Dad).

Might drive around, looking for photographic subjects.

And fishing really isn�t out of the question. After all- I have spent time throwing lures in much worse conditions , even in the past 12 months or so.

If I can find a wind- and rain- blocking bridge with hungry fish in a 45 mile radius, I might have to give it a shot.

Stay tuned�


One last thing�

I took the boys outside for their evening �waste elimination� a few minutes ago, and I found the following bizarre-o cricket on my patio:

We have always called these �cave crickets�. Probably the wrong name, but that is what the Hillbillies here in Mohall call them. (Oops- just checked the Internet, and found out that is the proper �common� name for these creatures)

Here is a close-up of it, feeding on a fallen leaf:

Hey, it was dark when I shot the photos. All the illumination was from the spotlight on the patio. Hence, the overly red color pallet in this frame.

Why is this critter still out and about, this late in the year?

I don�t know- global warming?

It is still quite warm for mid-November. Should have had a few hard frosts, if not freezes by now. But it still hasn�t fallen below 32� Fahrenheit as of this entry (although the lows this weekend are supposed to be in the mid- to low- 20�s).

Anyway you look at it, it has been extremely warm again this fall. That makes several years in a row now.

Don�t want to admit it, but I am beginning to believe there might be something to this climate change/ global warming theory�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top