Today's music?

34 Satellite - "Stop" (2001 - Hideaway Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Nov. 25, 2004 - 10:15 p.m.

Brining back an oldie�plus, an apology for any football fans out there�

Ah� you just can�t beat getting together with friends for the holidays, can you?

Hey! I misplaced the turkey, sitting in the recliner, watching football in a .gif image, so this is all I have for Thanksgiving.

Sorry�


Also�

For those football fans out there who watched the Colts- Lions game with indifference (the final score was almost exactly the same at the Colts trashing of the Bears last week, 41-9), and after consuming their Thanksgiving feast sat down hoping to watch a (at least) competitive game involving the Dallas Cowboys and my (pathetic) Bears, I doubly apologize.

To think I thought the Bears offense was bad the last few years.

Today?

The Bears had the ball on offence 13 times.

They punted 10 times.

They threw 2 interceptions.

That�s right. They had the ball on offence 13 times, and didn�t score ONE FUCKIN� TIME!

The missing possession? That would be a missed field goal attempt.

I actually turned the t.v. off with about 6 minutes to go in the game. No sense in wasting any more of my life watching this train wreck that is being sold as a professional football team.

If the weather holds out, I think Sundays might be for fishing in December�


Speaking of the weather�

I was sent home at 11 am yesterday to rest. At the start of the day, they weren�t planning on sending us home. The forecast for our county was for 2� to 4� of wet snow. But the county where our headquarters is located was only calling for a dusting or less. THAT is what they base sending us home to rest on.

I started on out engineer early. He called wanting to talk to Beavis, and I asked him when we were going home. He said, �not going to happen�.

He called about an hour later, and I asked him if he had checked the NOOA forecast. He said he had, but to not expect to go home. He also told me I was �killing him� for giving him a hard time.

At 10 am, he called to tell Beavis we were going home for rest.

I would like to take some credit for this, but I imagine his boss made the decision�


Our new headquarters (once the redistricting goes into place) will be in a town over 100 miles south of Mohall. When we get snow, the usually only receive rain.

This will be a major problem. I am predicting this today�


So� what happened, weather wise, yesterday?

Well�

The wind blew at speeds up to 60 mph all afternoon. Heavy rain fell, too.

I came home, ate lunch, stripped off my clothes, and took a 3 hour, toss-and-turn nap.

I woke around 3 pm. Got out of bed all groggy, poured myself 2 cans of diet Mt. Dew, and sat down in front of the t.v. to watch a bit of college basketball from Maui.

The phone rang.

They wanted me to come into work right away.

This was 3:30 pm. A full 3 and � hours before our shift should have began.

See what happens when the political creatures in charge can�t figure out how to hire snowbirds (hourlies)?
They went through the entire list and were still 4 routes from being fully staffed. That is why they wanted me to come in so early.

And it wasn�t �Would you like to work?�

It was �We need you here RIGHT NOW!�

Glad I took the nap.


When I walked in the door, I noticed a problem- the power was out.

The bays were completely dark (it was overcast and near sunset, after all).

Without power, we didn�t have a telephone system. Or power at the fuel pumps to put diesel into our trucks.

FUCK.

So�we drug the portable generators out.

The large one was hooked up to the breaker box to run a minimum of electrical items in the building.

The small one was a little more complicated. Temp. #1 and I disconnected the wiring from the fuel pumps from the main connection and hooked a piece of three wire grounded line to the junction box to the small generator.

Why?

So we could put diesel fuel into our 24 trucks, that�s why. Nobody, and I mean nobody, in town will take our credit cards for diesel fuel.

This is what happens when you have an idiot running the state for you. He has pissed of so many vendors (by slowly or not paying our bills) they won�t even take our credit to pay for a fill-up.

Anyway (like you wanna hear this bitching and moaning from me on a national holiday)�

We somehow made it through the night. Everything was all clear by 3 am.

So we went home.

I got exactly 4 hours of sleep (after driving home and bathing) before I woke up and started my day today.

And I am dead tired so�

I hope y'all had a great Thanksgiving.

Don�t attack anyone fighting over that �early bird special buy� tomorrow morning.

I plan on staying as far away from shopping areas as possible tomorrow (especially since Lease has to work).

Maybe a late season trip to N.P.P.Lake for a few November bluegills might be in my future�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top