Today's music?

Modest Mouse - "Good News For People Who Love Bad News" (2004 - Epic Records) Great drunken alternative rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 - 8:01 p.m.

Strange goings on at the Mohall storage�

Things have been pretty weird at work the past few days. Even weirder than usual, that is.

Let�s see� the two guys who were involved in the argument/head butting/shoving incident a few weeks back had their hearing today. Both are fighting to keep their jobs (over-reaction by the NDDOT management, IMHO).

Dunny was the first to return from London. He came into the toolroom with a couple of packages of windshield wipers in his hands. He asked me if I could use them on any of my own vehicles. Told him that I didn�t think so, but thanks anyway.

He then said, �Well, they fired me. Nice working with you!�

WTF?

This was just a hearing! What he did, although worse than what the other guy did, isn�t worthy of dismissal.

I followed him out the door, and said, �No! You�re kidding me, right?�

He said , �No.�

He then got into his car, and he drove away.

This is the man who told me last week, �You know, what you wrote on your statement will determine whether or not I have a job�.

Which is total bullshit, by the way. I only wrote what I witnessed, and only after being told by Beavis that I had to write the statement or risk disciplinary action myself.

No, what I wrote doesn�t determine if he has a job. HIS ACTIONS THAT DAY will decide whether or not he is still employed, once the hearings and discussions are over.

Even if they fire him, he will just file (and probably win) another lawsuit against the management (and taxpayers of North Dakota).

Wouldn�t be the first time he did that��


Hum�.

I just went back into my �journal�, and it seems I never mentioned the �event� that caused today�s hearing.

Maybe I shouldn�t mention it now.

Naw�.The folks in Bismarck don�t worry me that much. Like they would ever read any of this and think that it is �true�, right?

Just a �journal� for me to post a few photos and rant a little. No harm in any of that, is there?

I�ll juts say that two people with short fuses went from kidding each other to arguing in each other faces (ala baseball manager and umpire) to a head butting and one of the �men� pushing the other , two handed, away from him. These all happened in less than 30 seconds, before Pumpkinhead and I could get between them and stop their confrontation.

All very stoopid. I tried to shout at both of them (as did Pumpkinhead), �This isn�t worth loosing your job over! Back down!�, but they couldn�t hear us through their rage.

Like I said- not enough happened in that 30 seconds to cost anyone their job. No punches were thrown. No weapons were brandished (although the one man�s head is hard enough to be considered a deadly weapon, I guess).

Hopefully, this will all blow over with maybe a day off each without pay

I hope so, for both of their family�s sakes�


Oh yeah- one more thing-

I was on a vacation day Monday, so I missed this little bit of excitement: One of the guys who is on the temporary lead worker rotation (and who was interviewed for the permanent position last Thursday) was informed that he was no longer on said list.

Annnnnddd�

He was sent home for three days off, without pay at closing time Monday.

Why?

Again�.I don�t think I should write about the �specifics� here. The reason why he is being reprimanded stems back to something he did as a temporary lead workers last summer that, simply put, he was told he couldn�t do.

So he did it anyway, the first day that all of the full-time management folks were off.

Problem was, someone (I have my ideas) knew he was doing this �thing�, and they also took the day off to gather evidence that the �thing� had happened. They then turned the temporaray lead worker in to the �ethics tattlerline�. It took over 4 months for the discipline to take place. The temp was sure nothing would happen to him. He even joked about what a waste of time the whole process was for everyone involved.

And now, he will have a paycheck for Christmas that is three days lighter than it usually is.

My opinion on what he did?

Not much.

The whole thing seems kinda petty. I am willing to bet worse things are done on a regular basis at your workplace�

But with all of the back-stabbing lowlifes we now have in our facility, I wouldn�t even consider doing anything like what he did that day�


Don�t you love my �generalities� today?

I don�t want to get too specific, in the really remote chance that a keyword search by the wrong person in the NDDOT might, for some tiny reason, run and find this �journal�. There is nothing too specific here anyway, but who knows what the party in power might think of something on the Interweb showing how screwed up our workplace (and their governor) is nowadays.

Not that I fear any repercussions upon my employment. I would just lock this puppy up, delete anything remotely mentioning the storage, and start over again with another �journal�.

Hope nothing like that happens, though.

That would be too much work�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top