Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 12, 2004 - 8:14 p.m.

A correction from the publishers of Roadiepig�plus- True Facts, from the folks at The National Lampoon�

Correction- In my entry last Thursday, I said that my favorite college basketball team (The politically incorrect Illini) had never been rated #1 in any national poll.

How quickly I forget�

They have reached that lofty position twice- once in the early 1950�s (wasn�t around then, so that�s my excuse for not knowing), and for one whole week in 1989 (I should have remembered that!)

The 1989 version of Illinois men�s basketball was nicknamed �The Flying Illini�. Loaded with undersized but very athletic players, they took the top spot for a week that January after beating Georgia Tech on a Saturday when the two teams ranked above them (the illini were #3 at the time)both lost their games. Named #1 on the following Monday, they lost star guard Kendal Gill to an ankle injury for the next month or so ( the injury happened during the Tech game), and proceeded to loose their first game after they reached the top of the polls.

The good news (for me, anyway)?

Both seasons that the Illini were ranked #1 ended up with the team reaching the NCAA tourney Final Four.

As well as they are playing as a team right now, anything less will probably be a disappointment�.


Those who have been around this planet for as long as I have should remember the time where the best humor wasn�t found on a computer screen.

It was published as a monthly magazine called National Lampoon.

Yes, before they became known for making movies (with wildly variable results, quality wise), this offshoot of the Harvard Lampoon published some of the best stories/cartoons/and such out there. I had a subscription to this adult publication back when I was 13 (told my dad it was just like Mad magazine, which was bald-faced lie) until the early 1980�s.

One of my favorite features was the section they called �True Facts�. Everything from weird photographs, to strange newspaper stories, to comical mistakes on message boards outside of fast food restaurants made it into this section.

I thought that the Lampoon was gone forever. Until tonight, that is, when I found a link to their website.

Talk about finding an old lost friend.

The website is free, and even has that same �True Facts� feature. Some of the photographs located there have made the rounds in everyone�s e-mail box in the past. But there were enough new photos there to keep me occupied for the last hour. If you enjoyed reading the magazine in the past, or if you just like good humor, I recommend you click on the link above.

Two photographs from True Facts I wanted to pass on to you here:

This first one was from a realty company�s advertisement. The reason the used the picture was to show the living room area of the house. I don�t think they bothered checking out the view�


Even though the weather has stayed above normal here all fall, you know winter is just around the corner.

Might as well get ready for the latest adult snowmen, right?

The caption? Snow blower, of course�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top