Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2004 - 8:16 p.m.

So anyway�I was looking around my garden after a very cold night, and�

I found the following still blooming:

That is one of several Cape Primrose (streptocarpus sp.) plants I have growing in the upper shade bed of my garden. You probably see them at your local grocery store�s flower department every January (because they are easy to greenhouse grow and force into bloom in winter)

They are advertised as �winter hardy� for around here, but I never seem to be able to keep them alive through winter and into the following spring. But with everything else shut down due to the recent cold snap and hard freeze (lows in the lower teens the past three nights), two of these small plants are still trying to put on a show.

Here is a shot of the entire plant, showing the winter-dead ground around it:

Even if they don�t make it through the winter, they gave us a good show all spring, summer, fall, and now winter�


Did a bunch of Christmas shopping after work tonight. For Lease, that is.

I did all of this in one store- our local Kohl�s department store .

No, I am not lazy. It�s just that they have most everything that Lease enjoys (nice clothing, home and kitchen accessories, and jewelry) under one roof.

And today was one of their great Wednesday �just about everything but the water fountain is on sale at up to 60% off!� sales before Christmas.

What did I buy her?

Not writing that here today. She might stop by and read, just in case I did mention what I bought her today.

I told her how much I spent, and told her that even though I don�t want or need anything, she can spend up to that amount for me if she wants to.

I have no idea what she will buy me. The Canon digital Rebel costs much more than that, and I already told her to wait until the price drops next year for that (pick you�re your adjective -unnecessary, extravagant, frivolous, overpriced, kick-ass) item anyway.

I guess I better try to come up with some ideas before Friday. That�s the day she plans on finishing up her Christmas shopping�


Sister-in-law Ang just called Lease all out of breath (yes, we were using the answering machine to screen out unwanted calls). Lease called her back immediately, and found out the reason for her distress.

She had just done the same thing Codeman did back in August. She didn�t know what was on her steps, but whatever it was caused her ankle to turn violently, throwing her to the bottom of the steps. She said she heard a loud �pop!� when this happened, and that she thought she could see a bone where it didn�t belong underneath the skin on her ankle.

Not good.

T-bone was at nephew Gus� basketball game, and was on his way home as soon as he received her call. I think she called Lease for someone to talk to while waiting on her husband.

Terrible time of the year for this to happen to her. And her workplace doesn�t pay for sick time.

We are waiting for her to call back from the hospital. And we are still waiting to here from our niece Tara (who had her gall bladder removed yesterday, with a few complications) She has checked out of the hospital (good), but nobody at either her house or her mom�s house will answer the phone.

Hope for the best for both of them for me, will you?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top