Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004 - 1103411311

Sometimes the best photographs happen on accident�

I finally got around to editing a bunch of photos from the last 45 days or so this morning. Lease wanted to have a couple of the photos of the boys and The Lovely Chelsea from last night made into 4� x 6� prints for her desk at work. That was enough incentive for me to wade through the ignored photographs. I needed to have a few prints made anyway, so I burned the finished results onto a cd-rom and headed to the local Walgreen�s photo lab.

For some reason, their �load your own files� kiosk thing was acting all Hinkey. It would take my cd, but wouldn�t fully load all of my files. It would get to file #30 or so, and then slow to a crawl loading the rest. And then, just to drive me a little bit more crazy, it would only allow me to select 2 or 3 shots before the computer running this program spit out my cd, sending me back to square one.

I put up with this twice, and then told the clerk behind the counter, �I give up�. She apologized, and said that their maintenance guy was supposed to stop by later today to check the thing over.

Must have had this problem for a while. Too bad she didn�t tell me this after I mentioned the problem after the first aborted loading.

Since we were headed across town to eat lunch and for our weekly grocery shopping (the Wallyworld located there wouldn�t have half of the customers as the Mall-area one), I decided to use the Walgreens located there instead of waiting for the repairman.

Turns out that might have been a mistake.

The colors are somewhat off on these prints. That is hardly noticeable, though.

No, what really irks me is the cropping done by their machine. For some reason, it chopped about 10% to 20% of the outside border of most of the prints. Since I crop my work to be as close to 4�x6� as possible, that means they chopped a few foreheads off, along with backgrounds I wanted to keep.

Why their machine is set up so differently than my neighborhood one, I do not know. The ruined photographs weren�t discovered until we were on our way home, and I don�t plan on driving back over there for the few prints they ruined.

Just have to have them printed again, once the neighborhood machine is fixed.

Maybe if I take the bad prints to the local store they will honor the drugstore chain�s money-back guarantee?

Won�t be holding my breath on that one�


I found this shot this morning, while editing my nephew Gus� grade school basketball pictures from November.

I wasn�t using the flash (at first), and that gave me a bunch of badly blurred, out of focus shots.

But this one? I was panning the camera, following his movement down court. And the end result, even though it is blurry and somewhat accidental, is one I really like:


Babysitting Grandniece Riley tonight. Another one of those 10 pm to way-past-our-bedtime events.

Better get off of this thing and try to catch a short nap. I�ll need it to stay up with Riley, since she won�t be asleep by the time her parents pick her up�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top