Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Dec. 20, 2004 - 9:01 p.m.

A lazy couple of days�

We ended up watching (and playing like children ourselves) with Grandniece Riley for about 4 hours Saturday evening. Lease and Riley did the coloring book thing, along with using a blanket as a tent, and sliding down the stairs on step at a time.

And that was all in the first hour she was here.

I did the Lego� building blocks, and introduced her to American Football (The Falcons with Michael Vick were on, not my pitiful Bears, so I can�t be charged with child abuse).

And yes, the camera was out too.

I have shot so many pictures of her over her lifetime; she doesn�t even flinch when the flash goes off. That means I get plenty of unposed, natural shots:

I think she might have been slightly disturbed by the fact that Eeyore and Pooh didn�t have legs.


The next couple of shots are an example of using whatever prop I have on hand for a shot. The second one explains the first:

Riley actually started this bit herself. She thought it was funny to look at us through the window of a Lego� block, opening and closing the cover and saying �Boo!� as she did it.

Or maybe it was me the first time?

Anyway�here she is, caught in the act:


One last shot:

She has a smile that lights up the room�


So, what did we do the past couple of days?

Very little that required leaving the house.

Sunday was spent relaxing in the living room. Just like my pathetic Bears, we put out almost no effort all day. We watched two movies (�Mystic River� and , gulp!, �My Baby�s Daddy�), caught up with HBO�s �The Wire�, and otherwise vegetated all day. I did make dinner, but even that was cheating. I just defrosted a batch of Italian beef I made back in September, threw together crusty bread (using the bread machine to work the dough), and microwaved a pouch of Zatarain�s 60-second rice (good stuff, especially if you are in a hurry).

Today?

I forgot that Lease had put in for extra days off in December. This included last Friday, along with today and tomorrow.

So�

I called in to work and took an �emergency� vacation day. It used to be a pain in the ass to just call in a take a day off. Not anymore, though. Beavis just doesn�t mind anymore, and he told me to have a good day.

I guess I could have burned a sick day. I have a ton of sick hours saved up (our union negotiated that for us years ago. Nice, in case you ever have a drastic injury or illness, to have all that paid time saved up). But I had a couple of errands I needed to run today so I just used vacation time.

We watched another movie today (�Dodgeball�- if you look carefully during the office scene at the start of the movie, you will see a working version of my Meteor pinball machine flashing behind one of the actors! Problem is, they filmed the scene with the machine both on and flashing, and off and dark. One of those �continuity� issues you wouldn�t notice, unless you are looking at the pinball machine�), and finished wrapping the last of the Christmas presents. Oh, and watched more TV.

Also cooked a batch of oven chicken fajitas. And made a Kreckel�s run for lunch.

After all that food, I made it 40 minutes on the treadmill, so I didn�t totally vegitate�


I also talked Beavis into moving our Christmas meal to Tuesday. It was all planned for Wednesday, but the forecast is now calling for measurable snow starting Tuesday night (late), into Thursday morning. Hard to deep-fry turkeys and put together the rest of the spread if half of the guys have to go home at 11 am to rest (best case), or were called in overnight and go home to sleep at 7 am (forget it).

So I won�t be playing hooky with Lease again tomorrow.

I�m not sure what she will be doing, but at least she doesn�t have to go to work�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top