Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004 - 6:16 p.m.

Paid to sleep?�plus- how�s this for a coincidence�

The powers that be decided to send the night shift call guys home to rest today. Pretty generous of them, considering how the forecasts read at the time.

Yes, London (the home of our headquarters) was already receiving snow at 10 am. They are supposed to end up with something like 3� to 5�.

But we are on the opposite side of the district. At that time, we were still only in the 60% chance area, and only an inch or so in the outlook.

Not that I am complaining- we have worked far too many full 8 hour days, only to be called right back in for a 12 or more hour night.

That is getting harder to do in my advancing age.

The annual �border wars� college basketball game (Illini vs. Mizzou) is at 7. If the snow holds out until at least 9:30 pm, I would be very happy�


Just checked the updated forecast- now we are in the �little or no accumulation� area, with only a 30% chance of any snow at all.

Cool�


You know what all this means, don�t you?

The phone should be ringing about 6:45 pm for a callout to work�


One last thing (I know everyone is trying to finish up the Christmas/Chanukah/Kwanzaa shopping, so I�ll keep this entry short):

Since my side of the family decided to keep this Christmas� gift giving between adults to a minimum (due to tight finances), Lease and I decided to get enough gift certificates for my Dad and stepmom for 3 meals at their favorite Mexican restaurant here in Mohall. I figured this morning was as good a time as any to pick them up, because they wouldn�t be busy at 11 am.

As I was paying for the certificates at the cash register, two people entered and walked behind me as they headed to their table.

Yes, it was my Dad and my stepmom. And they didn�t even see me. Or at least acted that way.

I waited until they were seated, and then walked over to them at their table. They appeared to be genuinely surprised by my appearance. They also asked me to join them, but because I was technically on the clock( and supposed to be home in bed) , I declined their invitation. We shot the breeze for a few minutes until I told them I had better leave before Beavis found me there.

Gave them the certificates as I left. Told them that it wasn�t a Christmas gift: just that we wanted them to have a few meals on our dime when we couldn�t be there with them at the time.

Considering how many restaurants we have here in Mohall (a bunch), what were the odds that they would walk through the door at that particular time?

The magic of the season, I guess�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top