Today's music?

Modest Mouse - "Good News For People Who Love Bad News" (2004 - Epic Records) Great drunken alternative rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004 - 5:25 p.m.

Another strangely warm day�plus- no open water, and a photo from last Saturday�s disaster (or at least I THINK it is) �

Last week, we suffered through some bitterly cold weather. The low on Saturday was �8�.

Today?

The high was 60�.

Yes, that is a swing of almost 70 degrees in just 5 days!

The jet stream has been doing some strange things the last month or so, wildly oscillating north and south. This has caused the drastic changes in clime.

No, I am not complaining (as some of my snow-loving coworkers have been lately). I prefer above average temperatures during the winter months, and below average in the summer. So for the most part this has been a great winter for me�


How�s this for a pathetic banner ad?

I have something like 32,000 unused banner hits here at D-land, so I figured I would throw together what I am capable of creating as an ad and burn a few up.

My daily page hits are down to around one half of what my �average� daily views have been calculated by Andrew, creator of this site. Not that I am a page-hit whore, but I thought it was time to see who might land here via the banner route.

I imagine this entry won�t keep many of them around for more, though�


I found this photograph on the web this morning. I can�t verify if it is legit, or just Photoshopped, but I thought I would pass it on anyway�

If it is real, I can only imagine what went through these folks minds as the water swept them away.

Here�s that link again to the various �safe� charities that are accepting relief help for the tsunamis, in case you want it�


Tonight, after work, I decided to try out one of my Christmas gifts. Lease gave me a throw net for catching Gizzard Shad. I thought it would be a great way to stock up (via the freezer) on the best bait around for putting Channel Catfish on the table.

To give it a try, I headed down to what is known as �the Hot Water Ditch� here on Lake Mohall. What it is is the outflow from one of the big grain processing factories here in town. The water never freezes in the stream, and the first hundred yards or so of lakefront also stays ice-free all winter.

Wouldn�t recommend you actually eat any of the other fish located in this section, though. The water is full of grain (or is it grain?) particles mixed in with the wastewater. That can�t be good for the fish, and you end up eating whatever they swim in, so�

At least that was my plans. One problem, though- for some reason, the water isn�t flowing into the lake anymore. There was as much ice there as any other portion of the lake.

I really wanted to gather my bait there, instead of at N.P.P. Lake. Nobody every fishes in the Lake Mohall discharge ditch. The N.P.P. Lake hot water basin (due to cooling water flowing from the nuclear power plant) is only accessible from the two long bridges located at each end of the heated area. And there are tons of fishermen there on any given winter day.

This weekend? There will be that many more, due to the nice weather. The last thing I want to do is barge into them, throwing a lead-weighted net into the water. Might get a few of the non-English speaking members of the fishing fraternity angry enough to start a fight. Since this is the only basin that holds large school of Shad in the winter, it is the only logical place to try for them, too.

I�ll bring it with me on Saturday, just in case the light rain forecasted for that day keeps the crowds down.

If not?

Might have to wait a little while longer to try the net out�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top