Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jan. 01, 2005 - 4:03 p.m.

Fishing very early in the year 2005�oh yeah, and Happy New Year to you!

If you follow the Chinese calendar, disregard until February 9th .

Have a happy day, either way�


Went fishing today. I believe that might be the first time I have been able to do that on January 1 in my lifetime.

The weather wasn�t as nice today as it has been, but it was still much better than average. The high reached 42�. Wind was out of the east at a steady 15-mph. And it was very foggy at the lake, mainly from the temperature difference of the air and water (the lake was around 60� in the hot water basin.

Did I catch anything?

Not worth bragging about. Since the wind was out of the east, the warm water wasn�t reaching the shoreline at the first bridge I fished. I have found that the fish move out whenever this happens.

Couldn�t even catch any Gizzard Shad in my throw net at bridge #1. They go where the water is warm, too.

I managed to land 6 keeper Bluegills (25 or so all together) at this fish spot before I decided to try the other bridge. A short 10-minute drive away, I figured it would be my only hope of a successful trip. After returning the keeper Bluegill to the lake, I was on my way.

The fog was so thick at the other bridge; it was dangerous just walking to the underside of the bridge. You latterly couldn�t see your hand in front of your face, if you had long arms (as I do). First area I tried was the calm side of the bridge, where the water was roaring through the opening to the other side. I managed to get a couple of Shad with the throw net, and rigged up on bottom setup for catfish. That pole had a grand total of 1 bite over the next hour or so. During that time, I caught another 10 or small Bluegill.

Crummy, to say the least. Add to that the fact I had two guys move within spitting distance of my rods, fortifying themselves with their leftover New Year�s Eve beer, and it made for miserable conditions.

I decided to give the windy side a shot before I left. The fish weren�t biting there, either.

But I did manage to get enough of a hang of throwing the hoop net to gather around 40 Gizzard Shad, along with a half dozen small bluegill and a small Largemouth bass, which were all returned to the lake). Managed to get the net caught on the rocks along the shoreline a couple of times, too. Once so badly, I had to wade out (mid-calf deep) to untangle it from said rocks.

Needless to say I have a long way to go before I am proficient using this thing. Many of my throws ended up with the net a tangled mess. Slipping on wet rocks and tangling myself up with the retrieve rope doesn�t make you look too intelligent to the other people along the shoreline, too (but did give them something to laugh about).

The Shad I did land are now cut into bait-sized chunks, and are assuming deep freeze temperature in 4 small Ziploc� bags. That should be enough bait for (at least) 4 good days of catfishing later this year.

So I guess you can say today wasn�t a total waste of time.

As long as a few of these chunks of Shad end up putting catfish on my table, that is�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top