Today's music?

A.M. Sixty - "Big as the Sky" ( 2004 V2 Records) Sounds kinda 60's lounge, 80's indy, and I don't know what els



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 03, 2005 - 9:10 p.m.

All I can say is�wow (see photo below)�plus- retirement planning? Zzzzzzz�.

Spent the last couple of hours trying to sort out Lease�s various retirement accounts from her workplace. When you work in an industry that is constantly buying and selling each other up, you end up with a mess of investment this� and that�s.

How so?

Well�

As of today, about 35% of her total retirement investments were being held in accounts that she can�t even invest in anymore. And most of that was stuck in what are basically no-growth stable funds.

Why I didn�t move this around before today is unexplainable. I guess I was lazy, and figured that they weren�t loosing money, either.

With a notice received in the mail last week we found out that her no-growth portion would change from around 10% to that ridiculous 35%. That was what spurred me to finally do something to her setup.

That 35% is now in mid- to high-risk funds. We won�t be retiring in the next decade or so, so I figure why not play with it a little.

I imagine my writing about Lease�s retirement investing is enough to make you click on over to CNN.com or something more exciting.

Sorry about that�back to the usual crap:


I don�t know if you have seen the following �before and after� photographs of Banda Aceh, Indonesia (they were on the ABC morning news a couple of days ago, I think), but if you haven�t I posted them here to eat up your Internet connection�s capacity for you:

I better not find out later that this is a doctored photograph. I am pretty sure this is the same pair I saw on ABC.

How could anyone survive that devastation? Amazing�

It was also amazing to see the two former presidents (Clinton and Bush I) standing besides Bush II this morning, brought together to encourage the American public to make individual donations to the relief effort.

Nice.

And I really mean that�


BTW- we Americans are still getting criticized in some of the foreign press for no doing enough for the relief effort.

Hard to figure that one out, unless you just chalk it up to the �Americans suck� attitude so many seem to hold against us nowadays.

It looks like our military stationed in the pacific has been on the leading edge in getting water and food supplies dropped into remote regions, to just point out one area. And I think our government�s aid contribution is now something like $350 million. That doesn�t include what it costs to mobilize the armed forces to the area, or private and corporate donations that are also flowing towards the region.

I guess we just can�t win, no matter what we do as a nation�


On the local level? The weather is forecasted to turn to absolute shit over the next 48 hours. The National Weather Service ahs already posted a Winter Storm Advisory for our county that doesn�t even take effect until 9pm TOMORROW EVENING! They almost never do that so far in advance.

So what�s in store for the Mohall area?

Rain, changing over to freezing rain with possible heavy accumulations, before changing over to all snow. AT the present time, the path this storm might take isn�t set in stone. That means we could have mostly rain with a little frozen precip, a little rain with heavy icing and little snow, or maybe a bunch of all three.

Or maybe nothing. That�s how hard it is to predict winter storms.

BTW- have I ever told you how much I hate having to fight freezing fuckin� rain?

Yes, I think I have�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top