Today's music?

A.M. Sixty - "Big as the Sky" ( 2004 V2 Records) Sounds kinda 60's lounge, 80's indy, and I don't know what els



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 - 8:28 p.m.

Big nothing�

The first �killer storm� of 2005 turned out to be nothing much.

It rained all day yesterday, but the temperature managed to stay above freezing until early morning Thursday (that would be today, I guess. Lack of sleep messes with my equilibrium)

This is how I end up sleep deprived.

NDDOT management sent us home yesterday at 11 am (to sleep, so we are technically on the clock). I managed to get about 2 � hours of restless sleep (Jay-Dog just can�t stand sleep during the daytime, so he tries his best to wake me up).

I was called back into work at 7 pm. Since the air temperature was near freezing up until the cold front finally passed through, I spent most of the evening driving up and down my route.

The freezing rain switched over to snow (on my route, anyway) about 1 am. The road turned to crap almost immediately, glazing over and becoming a skating rink in a matter of minutes. This, even though I pre-treated most of it with salt all evening.

I drove and treated with salt non-stop until about 4:30 am. At that point, I couldn�t keep my eyes open any longer, so I took my �lunch hour (unpaid) and took a 25 minute, worthless , sitting upright nap along the side of my route.

After this (pathetic) recharge, I managed to make it the rest of the night without puling over once.

So�

For those doing the math- I went almost 25 hours with only a short, restless afternoon nap (2 � hours) and a �sleep or wreck� nap of 25 minutes.

I made it home (somehow) without wrecking the Hillbilly truck. Cooked a couple of eggs and toast for my breakfast (sounded good, and I didn�t burn the house down, so that�s good). I tried to watch the tape from last night�s Fightin� Illini win over Ohio State, but could hardly keep my eyes open.

Why didn�t I just go to bed?

Because I was worried about Lease�s carpool to Springpatch, that�s why. I can�t sleep restfully (Ha! Like I ever do that anyway!) until I am sure she made it the 40 miles over the icy slick roads to her workplace. She called me as soon as she could (8:10 am), and I tripped my way upstairs and went to bed.

Knowing that there wouldn�t be any reason for me to go back to work tonight meant that I could shave a little off of my daytime sleep. I made it until 1:30 pm, a total of 5 more (again-restless, due to Jay-Dog) hours of sleep. If I had spent any more time than that in bed, I wouldn�t be able to sleep at all tonight.

So, if you add it all up I got almost 8 hours of sleep over the 38 or so hours I was awake over the past 2 days. Normally enough to function. But not when it is cut up in so many small packages.

I woke up with a migraine sinus headache. It�s still there 7 hours later, making this effort a struggle.

Stop whining, Roadiepig�


One good thing about having the afternoon free was that I finally placed all of my seed/bulb/tuber/whatever orders on the Internet. I ended up skipping the Seed Savers Exchange this year. I only had 2 things I wanted from them, and couldn�t justify the shipping added to the product.

On the other hand? I placed a big enough order with 4 other suppliers (Park Seeds, Pinetree Gardens, Vermont Bean Seed, and Totally Tomatoes) to keep me busy for the next 9 months. I even ordered strange potato starts (all blue and all red varieties from Pinetree) and Dahlia tubers and gladiola bulbs (from Park). I usually just buy the bargain versions of these items form Wallyworld or the local farmer�s market.

Gotta try new things in the garden every year, so I guess the cost is justified.

That, and I made enough in overtime last night to pay for the whole lot, too�


I�ll leave you with the following photograph:

I was filling the bird feeder this morning when I heard a bird singing a song I hadn�t heard in a long time. It was a Blue Jay, a species nearly whipped out by the West Nile virus over the past couple of summers.

I ran upstairs to grab the digital, and headed back downstairs.

And�

Of course, he was gone.

Figures.

But I did manage to capture this image of a Mourning Dove, resting in the Evil Black Walnut tree fro Hell! before I put the camera away:

Considering he was near the top of this tree, the picture didn�t turn out too bad�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top