Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 10, 2005 - 5:39 p.m.

An uneventful Monday�

In other words- no accident or incident report

The talented people who work in our shop talked management into letting them rebuild the damage to my plow.

They love a challenge, in other words.

After removing the blade portion of the plow away from the frame, they tipped the frame over on its side. That way, the person welding (Joe D. Mechanic, in this case) was able to get better penetration of the flux into the crack.

It the last sentence even mildly aroused you, you have a dirty mind.

I helped them put the new carbides and backing blade on the front (until I was interrupted by the phone ringing, anyway). They even fixed the damaged hose before I was able to give them a hand.

The whole process (everything) took about 2 � hours.

Like I said- talented individuals.

I told each of them thanks for keeping the repair in-house and doing their best to make my plow as good as new.

But I figured I would mention them here, too. Not likely any of them will ever read this (I hope they don�t for other reasons, anyway), but thanks to you Joe D. Mechanic, Rabbit, Antonio, and Mountain Man Rob.

It�s nice to have hard working guys like these on your side�


The belt wasn�t the main problem with the washing machine.

Part of it, but not all.

The spin cycle only worked about � of the time this weekend. Lease and I had to play around with the loads, moving a few pieces of clothing out or to another spot in the tub to get the excess water removed.

Saturday afternoon, I called the local Maytag direct repairman. He told me he could check it out anytime today, so I set the appointment up for when I got off of work.

He was here by 4 pm. He left at 4:10.

No, he didn�t fix it that quickly. But he did figure out the problem (main race bearings shot in the drive). He didn�t have the right ones on his truck, but told me they would be in early Wednesday morning. Since the machine still (somewhat) works, that�s fine with me.

He also ordered me a new setting knob. The original one is halfway broken off of the machine. The thing is a repair waiting to happen, so I told him to add it to the order.

How much will all of this set us back?

No more than $80, labor (and two trips to the house) included.

Seems quite reasonable to me�


One last thing;

Lease and I were picking up a few groceries at the local Kroger store Saturday night. The produce guy must have ordered too many strawberries, because he had an in-store special on them- 2 (16 ounce) clamshells for $5.

If that wasn�t enough, these were the most unbelievably fragrant strawberries you could ever want to find, especially for early January.

And they were from Florida, not Peru or some other under-regulated agricultural area.

We bought 4 containers, which I made into 14 half-pints of jam, along with a nice bowlful of sliced berries with whipped topping for a snack yesterday afternoon. Finished the jam about 5 minutes into the Colts whipping of the Broncos, leaving the rest of the day to enjoy football.

If only the Packers had shown up to play�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top