Today's music?

John McLean - "Easy Go" (2001 - Preminition Records)...nice mellow jazz guitarist...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 17, 2005 - 8:57 p.m.

Wild Kingdom (N.P.P.Lake version)

I ended up taking my Dad with me up to N.P.P.Lake this afternoon. Even though I took a fishing rod with me, I figured photography would be the main purpose of this ride.

It was.

The water has already started to recede. Our first stop was at the spillway. I figured that would be where the best view of whatever damage the water had done would be observed.

This photograph shows the high water mark from the recent flooding pretty well. This is the wheelchair accessible fishing dock. The bottom � of the ramp (including the actual fishing area) is still underwater. The brush (covered with snow) at my Dad�s feet? That is how high the water actually rose, before falling back down to where it�s at right now.

When the water is at normal pool, this vantage point looks like a wide creek. The water would be down about another 7 feet, too.


We drove to one of the access areas. We had the whole place to ourselves, too.

Well- except for the various critters that live there year round.

I can�t ever recall seeing as many deer as we did today. My Dad (who is 75 years old) said the same thing. We drove around the campgrounds and picnic areas, and also down to the lake access area. On every stop, we came upon groups of deer. Three large bucks here (already shed of their antlers), a family group with two younguns there. All together, we must have viewed over 30 different deer.

They weren�t totally tame, though. All I had to do was open the truck�s door and off they went. But as long as I stayed inside the truck (with the window rolled down), I could fire off shot after shot.

That turned out to be important, too. Since many were standing in dead prairie grasses, a lot of the shots weren�t focused on the deer.

The problem with that? I had a bunch of (now deleted) files with sharp focus on a teasel plant standing 6 feet in front of the deer, but not of the deer itself.

I have many more to wade through, but I thought this one was worth posting tonight:

It might have been bitterly cold today, but to see these creatures this up close and personal more than made up for it�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top