Today's music?

John Mellencamp - "Trouble No More" (2003 - Columbia Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 27, 2005 - 8:39 p.m.

What a pain�

Had a little accident at work today. Thankfully, not involving a vehicle.

No, my right elbow got in the way of a cutting torch-hot piece of �� angled steel, unknowingly shoved there by Rabbit. I made the mistake of helping one of the full time temps moving a plow out of the wash bay, Was standing by the canvas curtain (there to keep the over spray from the power washer out of Joe D�s bay), right index finger pushing the up button for the door, when the metal hit the skin. The piece he was carrying was about 5 feet long, and he was holding all the way on the cold end. He had just made several cuts on the bar, each about 1 foot long. In other words? The metal had plenty of time to heat up to branding iron temperature.

The hot end might have touched my skin for a fraction of a second, but that was enough to char the skin into a perfect L-shaped wound.

He felt bad about it (after he reproached me for yelling �FUCK!� out loud- he didn�t know he had burned me at the time, and he loves to get on me for cursing�but I digress), but I told him it was no big deal. With all of the goofy new injury reporting rules we now have, I had no desire to report this minor incident anyway. It hurts live a burn you might get touching a hot spot inside of your oven- in other words, skin grafts aren�t in my future.

Here- see for yourself:

It�ll probably leave a scar.

But, as Lease just pointed out- I can always tell people I did it to have her initial on my skin�


Two items ate up all of my computer time the past couple of days:

Yesterday, it was time. I finally ordered my Canon Digital Rebel camera. Spent at least 10 hours researching where I could get the best buy on the body, what lens I wanted for everyday use (ended up going with a Sigma 18-50mm lens that scored much higher in all the reviews I could find, while only setting me back a few more dollars), and even let the salesman I placed the order with on the phone change my mind on which brand of 70-300 mm zoom lens, too.

I ended up buying it from Abe�s of Maine. They call the store that, even though it is located in Brooklyn, N.Y., and the salesman was of Middle Eastern heritage. I really don�t think his name was Abe�

Anyway�

No, I really don�t need this camera. Both of my other digitals still work fine.

But sometimes it�s nice to blow a little bit of money on a �toy� you really don�t need, don�t �cha think? I have already earned far more overtime pay this winter than what this camera set me back. And Codeman and I do have to take the Lovely Chelsea�s bother�s wedding shots in the spring.

This time, I can leave the film camera at home. The Digital Rebel will be able to take any low light shots as well as the old film Rebel, and will free up the Minolta for whichever one of us isn�t taking the main shots to use.

Might even have to go camera �hunting� for deer again before winter ends, too�


Speaking of pain�

I just finished doing our 2004 taxes before writing this entry tonight.

Took all of an hour. I have used the Taxactonline program for the past 4 years, and I highly recommend it. If you do the basic version, they will figure your federal taxes, step by step, and let you print the finished result for free. For a small fee of $7.95, they will even electronically file it for you, too.

I use the $15.95 deluxe version. With it, the even transfer all of your information (minus income and taxes paid) from the previous year if you used the program before. You can�t imagine how much time that saves.

Getting a return again this year. Most of it will go into our savings, hopefully to help pay for Codeman�s high tuition at the local private university this fall�.



Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top