Today's music?

John Mellencamp - "Trouble No More" (2003 - Columbia Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jan. 30, 2005 - 8:29 p.m.

Another �lost� weekend (rest and relaxation wise, anyway)�

The snow started falling at 4 am Saturday morning. Since the state had only called in a partial crew of the night shift earlier in the overnight hours, that meant the routes had to be covered by part of the day shift.

That would be me and my fellow A shift members.

I was behind the wheel of my 3-ton by a few minutes after 5 am. Aside from bathroom breaks and reloading, that�s where I spent the rest of Saturday until 7 pm.

14 full hours, fighting both the idiots with 4 wheel drive SUVs and the snow.

We ended up with around 4� of light but very wet snow. It took until 9 pm for the showers to stop, which meant we burn tons of salt trying to keep the lanes clear. I went through 3 full truckloads myself, and I was only applying it at a rate of 300 pounds per mile.


I thought that the night shift would be able to clean up anything we left them when I came home last night.

I was wrong.

The phone woke me up at 6 am. A partial crew was needed to clean up what was still on the pavement.

Between the salt we liberally sprinkled on any remaining slush and the U.V. rays of the sun, everything was wet and melted by 11 am. We were headed home by noon.

That only left enough time for Lease and I to run the weekly Wallyworld run, along with spending about an hour pouring though sample swatches and furniture catalogs at a local seller of such goods. Lease has wanted a sectional couch-thing for several years, and with all of this crazy overtime I have put in I figured it was time for us to replace the (very old) couch and move up a bit.

Turns out, she decided she would rather have a three-piece unit instead. This allows her many more set up options over the �one way only� nature of a sectional. The one I think she has decided on is very comfortable (made by Lazy-boy, so it should be), and has recliners on the corners of both the couch and loveseat. These not only have the leg rest thing that pops up, they also slide forward to leave you in a very comfortable position for television viewing or whatever.

She has to pick out what fabric she wants the pieces made out of (we brought home 3 large samples pieces for her to play around with), and then place the order once we decide. Should only take a month or so for it to arrive.

So even though we accomplish a bunch this afternoon, I ended up having to rush everything we try to do every Saturday and Sunday into a 5 hour window this afternoon.

Yes, I am getting tired of this routine. The last time I had a full 2 days off in a row was December 31st 2004 to January 1st 2005. That was 5 weekends ago.

On the other hand, I should be staring a few early crop garden seeds sometime in the next week or so. I think cauliflower and celery have to be started by the first weekend of February, and cabbage, broccoli, and onions won�t be far behind.

As far as I am concerned, spring can�t come quick enough for me�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top