Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005 - 8:34 p.m.

Several small things�

Do you have your computer set up to automatically check with Microsoft for updates? You know, security risk patches and such?

If not, you might want to do so . Click here to find out how to set you computer up to receive these important updates.

Why am I yammering about this here today?

Because Windows has had something like 10 different patches applied to its running system this week alone! Everyone knows that Microsoft�s programs are full of back door, front door, and other door flaws that are there for the hackers to find and exploit. Microsoft�s way of correcting these mistakes is by acting AFTER some slimeball finds the opening and exploits it for nefarious purposes.

If you set the �automatically check for updates� settings on your computer, you get to be one of the first so block these attacks. And they�re free- about the only think Microsoft does without asking for blood money.

I know most everyone reading this already has this running, and are now wondering why I am wasting their time.

This wasn�t written for you. It�s for anyone who DOESN�T already do this for their system.

I�d hate to have anyone I know have their computer disabled by one of the hackers, that�s all�


Codeman came into the computer room last night, and asked me if I wanted to make a bet with him:

Over or under- will the strange woman living across the street take down (or at least turn off) her Christmas lights before his (Codeman�s) birthday.

March 31st, in other words.

I took the over. She�s left them on for over 75 straight days. Every morning, she leaves for work about the same time as me. Since it is still almost dark at that time, she has to know that the lights are still plugged in and lighting up her property.

I think I have a sure bet�


The lunchtime newscast had a report on mental illness, and one doctor quoted in it said that 1 person out of 5 has some form of problem in need of psychiatric care.

If they studied my workplace, I think the numbers would be much higher�


Yes, I included myself in that calculation.

In case you were wondering�


More photographs for ya�.

I have tried many times through the years to take photographs of the Red-tailed Hawks that live in our area during the winter months.

One problem- they are by far the most skittish creatures I have ever seen. You stop your vehicle 100 yards away from one of these beautiful raptors and they immediately take flight.

Using the Rebel with the 75-300mm lens attached, I did my best to capture a couple of these on 'file' while at N.P.P.Lake last Friday. From this distance, this is what they looked like, unedited:

Not much to look at, I�ll admit.

But since each file is 6.3 megapixels, there is plenty of room to crop and edit:

Yes, that is the same photograph, before and after cropping and a little color adjustment.

Here are a few more, taken in a short burst using the �sport� rapid fire option on the camera:

The background is a little distracting on the last one, but I liked the way the bird�s feathers stood out.

Two more, as he (or she) flew away�

I know- all of the photos are a little blurry. Pushing the lens to its limits causes that.

Maybe some day I will be able to sneak a bit closer to one of these hawks, and get a closer shot.

For now, these will have to do�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top