Today's music?

Nothing... I need to find something new to listen to....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 19, 2005 - 6:06 p.m.

All about Tony�and a few other things, I guess. But the first two parts are all about Tony�

Bonehead, that is.

About a week ago, Codeman woke up and noticed something odd about his boy- his left ear was badly swollen. He decided to take him to work.

It�s a good thing he did, because the swelling was due to a hematoma, a blood clot just under the surface of his skin. The doctor had to make several small incisions to relieve the pressure, and to drain any blood still in his ear.

This left Tony with around 10 stitches in the top and bottom of his ear. Dogs have a tendency to whatever they can to itch stitches, which meant Tony has had to suffer the indignity of this:

Yes, Tony is presently a cone head bonehead.

I didn�t use the flash when taking this picture, because Tony hates it when I do. That is why the color is so washed out.

Kinda makes him look sad, too�


One other Tony item:

For the last few months, I have noticed an odd behavior trait Tony has developed. Whenever I call him (from the bottom of the steps) to go outside, he lets me go into the kitchen without leaving his perch on the landing. Only after I come back to the steps and tell him �Let�s go now, boy�, he will then follow me down and out to the back door.

It doesn�t matter if I am trying to take him outside first thing in the morning, when I come home from work in the afternoon, or if Lease and I are watching TV in the living room. It now takes 2 trips to his resting spot to get him out the door.

I don�t know if he is doing this because he wants me to ask him twice, or if he is just trying to show me who�s the boss.

All I know is this slows me down at times when I am in a bit of a hurry to get things done.

Maybe if I ignored him after the first attempt he would decide he better get while the getting�s good.

After all- he never has �accidents� in the house. If he wants to go outside badly enough, he�ll make it down eventually�


Lease and I had to hurry home after the Wallyworld run today. It was snowing heavily, but since the ground was so warm it wasn�t sticking to anything yet.

Once I unloaded the car, I gave Pumpkinhead a call. He hadn�t even been called by London , and that was a full hour after the snow started falling.

I thought I would have to work for at least a while tonight. This snow is supposed to change over to all rain in a few hours.

But for now? I don�t have to go to work.

Which is how I hope it stays�


One last thing- the local Menards had one of their �anything that fits into this paper grocery bag is 17% off� sales. Since it ended today, that is where we made our first stop after the Illini basketball game today.

Illinois won again, btw. They�re 27-0 now, with only 3 regular season games to go. I am not even going to talk about undefeated seasons here. Not that I�m superstitious- I just don�t want to bore any non- Illini fans at this time.

Maybe in a month or so, I will. But not now.

Anyway�

We try to buy as many small things that almost never go on sale any other time whenever this sale is going on (that�s one messed up sentence, isn�t it?). Things like hardware (screws, picture hanging supplies) and small hand tools (like tape measures and flashlights) are good examples.

One other thing I stocked up on today was the new fluorescent bulbs (or are they �units�? They look like a corkscrew light bulb, so I guess they are bulbs) that replace old-fashioned incandescent bulbs. These bulbs typically use about 1/3rd of the electricity of a regular bulb for an equal amount of light, and last around 5 years before they burn out. They are much more expensive then regular bulbs ($3.25 each for a 33 watt fluorescent bulb, which replaces a $.25, 100 watt regular bulb), but save so much electricity over their lifetime they more than pay for themselves. The packaging on a three pack says that you will save over $75 in electricity and bulb cost over their lifespan.

Since these bulbs are becoming so popular, I don�t think I have ever seen them on sale. But with the �17% off� bag, they were today.

The only fixtures you can�t use these bulbs in are ones with dimmer switches (they can�t have a variable flow of electricity). If you haven�t tried these bulbs before, you have my word that they are worth the extra initial outlay.

One last thing- Consumer Reports magazine wrote about them a while back, and they estimated the average household would save around $85 a year in electricity by switching all of their light bulbs to fluorescent units.

I think that�s enough about light bulbs for today�


I brought several more pots containing �forced� bulbs inside today. All have growth above the soil line. They should be blooming in only a few weeks.

I have one pot from the first batch I brought in that might be in bloom in a day or two. If so, I�ll post a photo here.

Until then, I have this :

This is the latest blooming amaryllis (variety- "Apple Blossom")I have ever grown. It was potted up in early November, plenty early enough for Christmas blooms.

It finally started growing around New Year�s Day. The bloom only opened earlier this week.

Better late than never�


Long entry.

Sorry about that�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top