Today's music?

Joan Armatrading - "Walk Under Laders" (1981 - A&M Records)...picked up this copy (one of my old favs) on cd recently, so...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005 - 8:31 p.m.

Crazy day at work�

I can honestly say that I was very busy at work today.

Now, if you ask most of my coworkers they will tell you that I do nothing all day. This comes with the job of storeroom clerk/ property control officer. Unless you stick around me for all 8 hours, you have no idea how many things are involved in my job assignment.

Case in point? One day last summer I decided to keep an accurate count of how many times I had to answer the phone on a given day. It wasn�t on a Monday, either. That is the busiest day of the week for phone calls, so I waited until a Wednesday to do the survey. Carried a pad of paper around with me wherever I went, made a mark for each time I talked to someone on the phone.

The final total was nearly 70. Almost 9 conversations an hour, on everything from the location of a dead deer to an inventory question from someone in London.

And�

Answering the phone isn�t one of the job assignments that ranks high in importance, according to most of my coworkers. Making coffee tops their list of what I need to do every day.

Anyway�

Today included the usual number of phone calls, plus:

A semi delivered a new TMA to replace on hit by a car last month. We didn�t have an easy way to unload this tall, narrow object (our forktruck was about to puncture the metal using the openings in the small pallet it was attached to for delivery), so it ended up being a 4-man job.

Unloaded a three-ton that Ray drove the Springpatch warehouse. The load included 6 55-gallon drums of fluids- always an adventure taking those off with the barrel attachment on the forktruck.

Add to that catching up on my billing paperwork, getting tires from the racks and paying the tire repairman after he finished mounting them for us, and trying to straighten out a messed-up order I placed for our mechanic (never a good thing to get him upset, even though the mess-up wasn�t on my part), and my 8 hour day flew by today.

Not that I am complaining- I wish every day went as quickly as today did.

Be nice, though, if the majority of my coworkers knew what I do for my paycheck�


I want to play around with Photoshop a little bit, so I�ll leave you with a couple of photos taken yesterday at the construction site of Mohall�s soon to open Target store:

Instead of curbs in the front entry of this store, the designers made the entire walkway handicapped-accessible. To keep people from driving right in the front door, they have placed these large red concrete orbs about every 15 feet.

Should do the job, and looks pretty cool, too�


With everything being brand-spankin� new, in its place, and so clean and shiny, it makes for some easy photographs:

Later�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top