Today's music?

Anything but the new "Kings of Leon" cd....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005 - 10:35 p.m.

Fuck greedy record companies�

Stopped by the local Circuit City store today. Wanted to pick up two cds that I have been eagerly awaiting their release- �Francis the Mute� by The Mars Volta, and �Aha Shake Heartbreak� by Kings of Leon.

Well�

All I wanted to do was burn an extra copy of each cd to play in my truck. One copy, that�s all.

No problem with the Mars Volta cd- it burned without a hitch.

But the Kings of Leon cd I just dropped $14, tax included, on?

It contains wonderful new technology from a company called Sunncomm that makes it IMPOSSIBLE for me, a paying customer, to burn a single extra copy of any cd that contains their coding.

Now, I understand the problems that the recoding industry has faced in recent years. File sharing has really hurt their bottom line, and the many people being sued in court by their lawyers aren�t likely to spend any money on pre-recorded cds in the future. They are loosing paying customers left and right.

But to make the people who pay for their cds alienated by making their cds licensed and impossible to copy? That is just business suicide, if you ask me.

I wrote the following in an email that I sent to the record label, the band�s management people, and the band�s website. If more people made their feelings known, the morons who run these dying labels might be able to salvage their business before it is completely dead.

But I am not holding my breath. These are the same people who were charging 50% more for cds than for cassettes only a few years back, even though it was a known fact that cassettes were costing them more to produce than cds. Greedy bastards will always be greedy bastards, right?


Anyway�

Here is the email I sent them all�


Let me get this straight- I drop $14 at a local store to buy a copy of your new cd ("Aha Shake Heartbreak"- Kings Of Leon), bring it home, load it into my computer's cd-rom drive, agree to all of the licensing b.s, and then try to burn a PERSONAL COPY (1) to play in my truck, and guess what? Your company/management have applied a new technology to said disc making it IMPOSSIBLE for me to make 1 stinkin' copy of this disc to use in (as I already said) my PERSONAL vehicle!

Look- I understand the problems the recording industry has faced in recent years with people illegally sharing files over the Internet, but I have never done this. I PAY FOR MY MUSIC! And since my truck is used in somewhat dirty conditions, I don't want to ruin the expensive original copy of a cd that I have spent my hard earned money paying for in that environment.

Oh wait- I think I finally figure it out- you want the few remaining consumers of your products to buy multiple copies of each cd they purchase! How could I have been so blind! If I want to play this disc in both my truck and my house, I have to either carry the cd in its case everywhere I go, Or (genius!), I can just buy as many copies as I can and put one in each player in my possession? Brilliant!

Um...wrong. Because of this wonderful new "advancement", I won't be buying ANY cds that are recorded in this format. I will go out of my way to tell everyone I know that you have decided to screw your paying customers by making a product that can't be reproduced for personal purposes. And I will tell each and every music lover I know that you have embraced this new way to gouge your paying customers, so that they may avoid spending any of their hard earned cash on anything you release in the future.

I don't think I even want to listen to this cd anymore. Might as well toss it into the trash with the wasted cds I used trying to burn my one extra copy. Or better yet- return it to the store I bought it from. As far as I am concerned, this product is defective...

Anyone want my copy of the cd? I really don�t think I care to listen to it now�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top