Today's music?

Momento - "beginnings" (2003 - Sony Music) Loud, angry music- perfect for the mood I'm in tonight...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 09, 2005 - 8:19 p.m.

Dog entry- some good, some very bad�

Took Tony Bonehead (and Jay) for a walk after work tonight. It was his first time on a leash for over 3 weeks.

The word �walk� was barely out of my mouth before Tony ran past me and to the front door. I hitched the dogs up to their harnesses, and we were on our way.

Since both dogs were so full of energy, I ended up taking them for a full 45 minute walk (drag?) to the local park. By taking both of the big boys, I end up getting both the cardio workout (from walking), and an isometric workout (from pulling back against their leashes). My arms are aching as I type this entry.

Jay never does anything but sniff during our walks. I think he might have urinated once (late last summer), but otherwise he is just too intent on checking out his surroundings.

Tony, on the other hand, has to dribble a few drops of his urine on each and every major landmark along the way. We are amazed on how much his bladder seems to hold , because every tree and post within his reach gets marked, every time.

Today proved to be somewhat of a challenge to him. Since I took him a good 10-15 minutes further than I usually do when Lease is with us, he was running out of both pee and steam as we headed down the homestretch.

Or so I thought�

Less than 100 yards from our front door, he once again stopped to pee. Whenever he does, I slow just a little, but then tell him, �Lets go� and tug a little on his lead. But this time? He refused to move.

Why?

Because he couldn�t stop the stream. It took him at least 10 seconds to finish at that one spot.

Was he trying to leave an extra big mark for the dogs in that neighborhood?

I don�t know.

My guess is all of the starting and stopping was wearing him out. He could see the house, so he was ready to finish his task.

Dogs never cease to amaze me�


Speaking of dogs:

Somebody new moved into the house across the alley from us (two house east, to be precise).

Yesterday, I saw 4 men pouring a small concrete pad near the border of the alley. Today, it has a dog cage (aka �kennel�) set up around it.

Their dog?

A large black and white Pit Bull.

Naturally.

Gotta have a status symbol, right?

I don�t have to tell you what the new neighbor looks like, do I?

Don�t assume- two of the men working back their yesterday were black. Two were white. I don�t know if any of them are the new owners of the house.

Anyway�

D.D. Neighbor�s kids have been getting very lazy taking their two dogs outside when they get home from school (around the time I come home from work every night). They just open the back door and let the dogs head out back. They never check to see if their fence is closed, so that means the tiny rat dog (variety unknown) and their small female Pit Bull run up and down the alley.

Guess what happened today?

Go on- guess?

Your right! Fats (the D.D.N.�s dog) headed right for the new neighbor�s Pit, held to a fence with only a tiny dog chain).

As soon as I saw what was about to happen, I yelled for Fats as loudly as I could. She turned, looked at me (our house is at the top of the hill, in case you haven�t seen any of my pictures of the back yard), and ran back to her yard.

She is very lucky. If she had started something with the other Pit (much bigger than her, btw), I couldn�t have done anything to break it up.

I made it down to the alley, and I told D.D.N.�s boys that they better not let her run like that anymore. They said they wouldn�t, blah blah blah, and took her into the house.

Last Friday, I found her running in the road in front of our house. I called her (she does listen to me- must be all of the dog snacks I have slipped her the past few years), and I took her to their back door. Once there, I noticed that her neck was slightly bloody, dried out and staining her light brown fur. I pointed this out to D.D.N. once he came outside, a full 10 minutes after I knocked on the door. He told me that she had been play fighting with a dog down the street, and that she was going to be fine.

He is such a worthless tool.

And his little female Pit Bull will end up dead in the neighbor across the alley�s back yard. It�s just a matter of time.

There isn�t really anything I can do about this problem. This town is full of lowlife sub-humans who think fighting dogs is �fun� The police do what they can, but Codeman can tell you the local vets and the animal control people have to put down a large number of injured �losers� as they show up to their care.

The lunchtime news today had an interview with a local woman who�s pet Pit Bull had mauled her over the weekend. She said the dog had always been peaceful for her, but had been abused by its previous owner. She swatted the 75 pound dog on its rear because it had growled at her 3 year old daughter (a formerly abused Pit Bull, kept in a household with small children? She sounds like a genius!), and the dog turned and bit the woman's arm, hand, and chin. She ended up with over 100 stitches from the attack.

Wait-it gets better!

She hasn�t decided whether they will put the dog down after the 10 day rabies quarantine is up! If she does keep the dog, Child and Family Service should take her children away from her. That, or wait for one to end up dead, I guess.

This whole subject just turns my stomach. Dogs are born with kind hearts. All they want to do is be your companion, friend, and share their love with you. And a small segment of our society turn them into violent beasts for their "entertainment".

Dog fighting is beyond cruel. It�s barbaric, and the people who take part in it need to suffer a fate similar to what befalls their non-winning dogs�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top