Today's music?

Nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Mar. 11, 2005 - 10:33 p.m.

A �full� day, and then�

How�s this for a full day:

Was woke up by a ringing telephone. Snow on bridge decks, needed salt.

Fuck.

My plan was to go in, work 4 hours, and then burn 4 hours of personal business so I could watch the Illini game (which started at the horrible hour of 11 am, which is my usual lunch hour).

Instead, I had to hustle to get everything that needed salt treated, and barely made it into the storage in time to file my daily paperwork before I signed out for the day.

I drove like a maniac across town and made it home in time to see the last 15 minutes of the first half, plus all of the second half of a snooze of a game. My guys won easily (up by almost 30 when the starters were pulled, they ended up with a 17 point win), which left me with 4 hours to kill until lease came home from work.

Today�s weather? Well, the day started out with winter weather (look above), and it didn�t get much better. Winds from the northwest at a steady 25 mph, with gusts up to 40 mph. Snow showers continued until dark.

So� what did I do with my free time?

What do you think?

I headed down to the local creek that feeds Lake Mohall. This is one of my favorite early season fishing spots, for several reasons. Tail waters of major lakes are perfect spots for the first fish of the year for a simple reason- the water is a few degrees warmer there than the main body of water. This brings the baitfish into the area, which brings the game fish right behind them.

So�

If you bring the right bait and tackle, you catch fish.

Which I did, for the 1 � hours I could tolerate the conditions.

I hung around until my fingers turned bright red and became numb. By that time, I had managed to land somewhere around 100 bluegills, with 23 large enough to end up in my bucket. That is what is in the photo above, as they sat in my kitchen sink before I filleted them (don�t tell Lease I cleaned the fish indoors).

Here is another angle, after I applied the Photoshop program (dry brush filter) to the photograph:


Once Lease came home, I made homemade pizza for our dinner. Played some pinball and pool, and then hear the following on ESPN:

Bruce Webber's (coach of the Fighting Illini) mom had collapsed before their game today, and was rushed to a hospital in Chicago where she died from a torn aorta in her heart She was 81 years old. A spokesman for the team said Coach Weber would not be talking to the press, but that he would be coaching the team in tomorrow�s semifinal of the Big Ten tourney.

From what he has said in the past about his mom- coaching the game is what she would want him to do. She was so proud of the fact he finally made it to the position of head coach of a major program 4 years ago (at SIU) after being an assistant coach for 18 years at Purdue University.

But�

What a terrible thing to happen to him and his family. Basketball is just a game. But he has dedicated his adult life to learning and teaching young men the right way to play the sport. After all his hard work, he finds himself leading the #1 team in the nation, 30-1 Illinois. His team is on the brink of possible winning the national championship.

And now? He has lost his mother. And a game doesn't mean a thing.

I don�t even know the man personally, and this sad news brought a tear to my eye�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top