Today's music?

My Chemical Romance - "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge" (2004 - Reprise Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Mar. 13, 2005 - 7:56 p.m.

A full, somewhat wild weekend�

First off� how �bout those Illini?

They managed to overcome all of their problems this weekend to win the Big Ten basketball tournament.

This is no small feat, when you add up all of the adversity they encountered this weekend. Starting with the tragic death of coach Bruce Weber�s mom after the game Friday, the boys were able to focus just enough to squeak by a scrappy Minnesota squad on Saturday. Today�s game against Wisconsin wasn�t nearly as close as the final score (54-43). If not for a 12-0 run by the Badgers late in the second half, they wouldn�t have broke the 40 point mark for a full game.

That�s an average half for most teams. The Illini smothered them on defense all day, never giving the Badgers even a hope of winning the game.

The NCAA tourney brackets have been set. The Illini are (naturally with the best record in the nation) a #1 seed. The furthest they would have to travel (if they win, that is) until the championship game would be to St. Louis, a full 183 miles from their campus.

That is if they win their first 4 games. With the state of college basketball, nothing is a giving.

Let me simplify this the best I can-Coach Weber set three goals for the players on his squad before the season:

1. Win the Big Ten regular season title (done).

2. Win the Big Ten conference tournament (done).

3. Win the national championship (granted, a lofty goal, but�. time will tell)


Watched �Man on Fire�, with Denzel Washington last night.

Critics hated this flic.

Lease and I loved it.

Watch it, if you like your movies with a decent plot and plenty of action�


I finally got around to having a bunch of my photos printed at the local Walgreen�s today. I burned the files I wanted printed onto a cd-rom, and had them uploaded into their processing system by 1 pm

I went back at 2 pm to pick up my pictures (30 minutes before tip-off of the championship game) only to find out that their computer was down. The photos wouldn�t be ready for several hours.

Luckily for me�Codeman had to �run the dogs� at work this evening. He picked the prints up for me on his way home from the clinic.

Let me say this (I know-for the 1,000th time)- if you are still printing you digital pictures on your home computer, you really need to consider letting one of the 1-hour labs do the job for you. The photos are handed to you on true photographic paper. They will not fade like home printed pictures seem to do. And you will save money by letting the lab do the job for you over using your own expensive ink cartridges.

I had 117 4�x6� photos, along with 4 more 8�x10� shots made today. My total out-of-pocket cost was $31.23. That is about the cost of one color cartridge for my printer. I would have used more than that, and that doesn�t even include the cost of photo paper.

Trust me- it�s worth the hassle of taking your files to a local photo lab to let them do the work for you.

One added benefit- if one of the photos is messed up in processing (a common problem, printing at home), the lab eats the cost of ruined paper and ink.

That alone makes using the labs the only option for me�


The long-range weather forecast is for continued below normal temperatures for Mohall.

No real chance of snow, though.

I started several things this weekend (5 varieties of eggplant, along with several perennial plants). Next week (after these seedlings are up)? Peppers (over 20 varieties this year!) are on the agenda.

After that � tomatoes.

Spring is fast approaching.

Even if the weather makes it seem like it isn't�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top