Today's music?

My Chemical Romance - "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge" (2004 - Reprise Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2005 - 7:52 p.m.

What a difference (less than) a week makes�

Last Friday, my phone rudely awakened me. Snow had fallen overnight, and even though the ground was above freezing, some had managed to stick to the bridge decks around the county. After a quick shot of salt, everything was copasetic.

The high temps continued to stay far below normal for the next 3 days.

Things started to turn around yesterday. The sun came out, the mercury rose to the low 50�s, and without any wind to speak of spring fever had officially started

Today?

Even better. Still no wind, with a high temperature of nearly 60�.

Naturally, this caused me to need to stick my hands into the warming soil. I sacrificed radish, boc choy, and Chinese mustard seeds to the hope of an early spring warming spell. Even if they don�t survive, the action was important. It signals my brain to think more positive thoughts. It shakes off whatever rust salt and winter weather has formed on my psyche.

It makes working for the government more bearable, in other words.

BTW- still no permanent lead worker for the Mohall storage. I have started a running tally on our erasable board in the office ( �Now full-time lead worker free for 709 days� is what it reads, like some workplaces do for days without a lost time accident.)

Yes, we are still officially a joke, management-wise�


Once home tonight, I found I had enough energy and desire left in my body to work on the home beds. Since it hasn�t rained (or snowed) much at all for the last 4 weeks, I decided to fire up the tiller and hit the soil. Even though I did this job last fall, it never hurts to do it again if the conditions are right in the spring.

And they were today. The soil looked like crumbled chocolate cake after the tines dug deep below the surface.

I also decided to expand the bed that runs along the east border of our back yard. It was originally a mess of overgrown shrubs when we bought the house. Codeman and I removed most everything growing in the area several years back. This winter, I removed the last remaining weed/tree, the cluster of wild cherry that had to go due to broken branches and crazy, twisted growth.

Since I have the three Aronia berry bushes due to arrive any day now, it was a good time to expand the area that I had bordered with bricks 8 years ago. I doubled the size of the bed from 4� wide to 8�. This not only gives the shrubs more room to expand (they should grow as wide as they do tall), it also doubles the area where I can plant Lease�s flowers, both annuals and perennials.

That should make her happy, come summer�


Speaking of blooms�

I walked around the house a couple of days ago and shot close-up photos of the houseplants that are presently in bloom. Not pots of bulbs brought in from forcing outside; only plants that have suffered through the dry air all winter. The lengthening days has brought several plants into bloom.

Like this one, located behind my computer desk in a south facing window upstairs:

This is a few of the many tiny blooms held in tight clusters above the succulent foliage of a kalanchoe plant that has lived with us a many years. It blooms all summer and fall.

But the first blooms every spring are what make this one of our favorite potted plants�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top