Today's music?

Nineteen Wheels - "Sugarteen" (2000 - A&M Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 23, 2005 - 7:40 p.m.

A photo update, with two different ends of the spectrum (war and blooms)�

Nephew J-Rod is in town for the last time before his deployment in Iraq. He only has 3 days in town, but he stopped by this evening (after I came home from work) to leave me a couple of things- a bottle of hot sauce from a local restaurant near his base in South Carolina (he always tries to pick me up a bottle of local flavor, wherever the military sends him), and a photograph taken by a fellow soldier when they were training in the woods:

If I were a fundamentalist wackjob in Iraq, I don�t think I would want to come across J-Rod.

Looks like spring is already in full swing down in the Carolinas, too�.


Since I really need to work on the pictures I took of his son last weekend (hey- been busy here, ok? And I need to get them printed before he leaves town...), I�ll leave you with a couple more photos of bulbs I�ve managed to get to bloom early.

These are some of the Peony tulips from my bargain buy at the local Sam�s Club warehouse last December. They are from the box of 100 bulbs I bought for $3.00 and change, originally priced at around $20. All they wanted to do was get rid of them. Kinda late to put them in the ground in December, but it was unusually warm. I managed to mud most of them in the soil. I also threw some into three cheap plastic pots to force, too. I gave the other two away last week (one to my sis, one to my stepmom), and I kept this one (brought inside about 3 weeks ago) for myself:

They have grown a little bit crooked (grew too quickly inside, I think), but the blooms are still pretty cool. Here is a closer shot, after applying Photoshop filter editing to them:

One last thing- I had someone at work ask me why I wanted all of the filters (I bought on ebay last week) when I already have a program on the computer that can do a lot of what they do .

Simple- the program can only manipulate the end result (photograph) after I load it onto the computer. With glass filters, you can change the raw product without digital doctoring. You can control what the photo looks like before applying any tricks.

For instance- you can saturate the color in a washed-out looking photo taken on a sunny, hazy day with Photoshop. But with a circular polarizing filter, you can bring out the true colors naturally. That filter can also bring out the contrast between sky and land better than any tool on Photoshop.

Just my opinion- I could be wrong.

I�ll post some �before and after� portraits using the soft #3 and #5, along with no filter and Photoshop�s �soft� filtering setting, when I receive them. You can let me know what you think, once you see the difference�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top