Today's music?

The Mars Volta - "Francis the Mute" (2005 - Universal records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 30, 2005 - 8:37 p.m.

Spring? Maybe� plus- be careful what NCAA pool you enter- some of them are run by idiots�

Planted seed potatoes (Kenebec, Yukon Gold, and Northern Russet) and onion sets (Sweet Jugs) today. The soil was warm between my fingers. It felt good to actually plant something again.

No, the seeds I threw into the ground a couple of weeks ago didn�t count. Nothing has sprouted yet anyway, so they were probably just a sacrifice to spring.

The winds howled all day here in Mohall. A steady 25 mph, with gust reaching into the low 50�s made for a very dirty day. Dirty, as in the air was so full of soil particles it looked hazy outside. And dirty, as in the fine particles blew into my toolroom, falling all over every surface.

Probably have to clean everything at the storage tomorrow.


We didn�t have a NCAA pool at work this year. Didn�t want to run afoul of our glorious governor�s ethics reforms, you know?

But the men at Lease�s workplace did have one, and asked her if she (or I) wanted to fill out a sheet and join in.

I filled a bracket out in about 5 minutes, picking teams that I thought were playing their best basketball at the time. Did pretty well in the first 3 rounds, too. Good enough that I thought we were probably winning.

Which we were. I had 10 of the final 16 teams. I don�t think anyone else had as many as 8.

Now, in any LOGICAL pool, I would be in good shape to win. Better than that- I would have already won, no matter what happens this weekend.

I said LOGICAL, because whoever is running this one has no idea what he is doing.

Let me explain�

When you set one of these pools up, you have to have some basic ground rules. The simplest one is how you are going to score each round. Some use the �1 point per game� setup, but that doesn�t reward you for winning later round games. Most use the simple weighted system. It works like this:

Round 1 games are worth 1 point each (32 maximum points)

Round 2 games, 2 points (again, 32 maximum)

Round 3, 3 points each (24)

Round 4, 4 each (16 points)

Round 5, either 5 or 10 points (depending how much you want to reward someone for picking the winner of the final four games, 10 or 20 points max)

And the finals, 6 or 12.

Makes sense, right? If you make it to the elite eight tied with one other person, whichever one of you gets the winners in the last 3 rounds SHOULD be rewarded for making the right guesses.

The pool at Lease�s workplace?

Well�

It started out with the guy running it asking Lease how to �weigh� the points. I suggested the one above, with 10 and 12 for the final four games.

Instead, he came up with this for each round (try to figure it out- I still haven�t):

1, 2, 8, 16, 64.

And no points for picking the champion! Why, you might ask?

You have to pick THE FUCKIN� SCORE OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP GAME! THAT WILL DECIDE WHO WINS, REGARDLESS OF THEIR POINT TOTAL!

This makes no sense at all, in any sort of gambling way. Why even bother picking winners of the games? Get them all wrong, pick a score of 76-70 (not even choosing who gets those scores, btw), and if that is the closest to the actual final score, YOU WIN!


Even with his weird scoring system, I was the only person to have three of the final four teams (Illinois of course, plus North Carolina, and Louisville). Nobody had Louisville but me. Since I had Illinois and North Carolina winning their next games, nobody can pick up points on my total. With all of that taken into account, I have already won this stupid pool.

But�

He told her today I have to give him the score of the final game before it is played next Monday.

Yeah, he is an idiot. I have come to the conclusion that he just doesn�t want to pay her for my sheet, even though I have the winning sheet. Since I am not a violent person (luckily for him),I told her to just tell him tomorrow to forget it. I am not making up some score to play along with his ever-changing office tourney.

Either he is so dense he can�t figure out how to run a simple office pool, or worse he is trying to rig the thing so that he can win the money.

I should have known this was coming. Lease said about half of the guys who were planning on getting into the thing decided against it when they saw how he was scoring the games. I figured $5 wasn�t worth worrying about and put the sheet in anyway. That was before the �final score� idea popped into his head. If I had known that, I would have spent the $5 of dog bones instead.

As bad as I usually do at my workplace, doing this well and not getting the prize (maybe $50, so it�s not that big, but still it) pisses me off.

I have never met the moron behind this mess, but I can�t wait for the chance to explain to him what an idiot I think he is.

Better make sure it�s not at the Cableco, though. This minor annoyance isn�t worth causing her any problems at work�

(Correction- I just checked the sheet Lease turned in for me at her workplace. I picked UConn to beat North Carolina. And my lower right bracket really sucked. That said? I think I had enough games right in the rest of the games to still have the most points. Just wanted to make sure I had the facts right ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top