Today's music?

The Illini pre-game show on the radio...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Apr. 02, 2005 - 2:30 p.m.

Time is short today, so�

The Illini tip off tonight at 5:07. With all of the extra commercials CBS inserts into the broadcast, which means the game won�t be over any earlier than 7:45.

�Annie�, the grade school play my niece and nephew are performing in tonight, starts at 7.

What to do, what to do�

Simple.

With Lease�s blessing, I�m watching the game in its entirety. As soon as it ends (hopefully with another victory by the boys from Champaign, and their first ever birth into the NCAA title game), I will rewind the tape; throw it and one of the cameras into the Hillbilly truck, and head to the school. I�ll miss about half of the play, but I know nobody minds. Everyone in Lease�s side of the family knows I am a fanatic for the Illini. Most of them also want to watch the game, but will leave before the final horn sounds.

That�s why I�m bringing the tape with me. After the play is over, everyone is headed over to Angie and Ty�s house to eat a late supper. They all want to watch the replay, too.

Win or loose�


One huge wrench has just been thrown into the gears-

The pope is dead.

I guess it happened about � an hour ago. Since the play is being performed at a Catholic school, I wonder if they might postpone it with this development.

Better get Lease on the phone with her sister to find out�


Today was cheap rose planting day. We picked up 4 of those ubiquitous plastic wrapped dormant bargains at Menard�s and Lowe�s yesterday. Three were priced at $2.99 and one at $4.99, so I can consider these �annuals� if they don�t make it thought he winter (which is sometimes the case this far north).

The varieties are some of the most famous of the tea rose variety (Peace, Mr. Lincoln, and Queen Elizabeth), so even if we only get a few blooms , they will be worth the small price.

I had 4 large rose plants die over this mild winter. I expect that every year. But I also lost 3 miniatures, too. I think all were bought in the floral department of local stores, though, so they might not have been winter hardy roses.

We had marked several miniature roses in the Nor�east catalog back in January, but I never got around to ordering them.

As much as Lease likes the mini roses, I think I better get that order placed today�


Also picked up my yearly bundles of onion plants at the Framer�s Market store this morning. Before I left, I had two different people stop me to ask how to grow these plants, along with which varieties I had picked out for myself (2 each Vidalia and Yellow Spanish, one each Candy, White Spanish, and Maui).

I hope I gave them the right answers to their questions. After 25+ years of gardening, I have had my share of failures (along with some successes). If I can pass this experience along to new gardeners, that makes me happy.

One of the employees at the Market told me I needed to work for them, because every time I stop there to buy anything, they end up having me answer questions for the other customers.

I couldn�t take the pay cut, but that might be something for me to do down the road when I retire from NDDOT�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top