Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Apr. 13, 2005 - 8:10 p.m.

Another toy�

Last week, I was reading an article (online) about budget zoom lenses. I have never considered buying one of the �mirror� lenses, mainly because of the distortion (�doughnuts� is what they call the circular objects left in the unfocused background).

But then I read this article on Popular Photography�s web site. In the article 9if you don�t feel like reading it), he describes how several companies make auto focus 100- 400mm zoom lenses that take pretty decent photographs at a much lower cost than the big boys (Canon or Sigma, to name a couple) charge for their low-end equipment. The author singled out the f/ 4.5-6.7 Phoenix lens made by Cosina as a real bargain, listing for under $200.

I went to Cosina�s website, and read what they had to say about their lens. Yes, the f/4.5 isn�t a very wide aperture, which means this lens isn�t much good in any low light situation. Don�t even think about using a built-in flash with the lens expanded- you would end up with a half-moon of darkness on the top half of the frame.

But for a lightweight (relatively speaking) long range zoom for an amateur to shoot distant nature photography (that would be me), it sounded like a good deal.

I found it for sale at several online shops, all asking for the $199 list price.

Then I gave Ebay a try.

That turned out to be a very good idea.

One seller had listed this lens with the Canon mount. He had used it with his old Rebel (film) camera, and he didn�t buy another Canon when he went digital. His auction also included a 67mm sunlight filter (a nice bonus) and a sun �cone� to attach to the end of the lens on sunny days.

He had it listed for $70, or $80 if you used the �Buy it now� feature.

Which I did. Including the filter and sun �cone, what he had for sale would set me back $almost $250 new.

And�

A few of these lenses had sold recently, none for less than $100.

Here is what the lens looks like. It is sitting next to my old 32- 75mm Canon lens (extended to each of their fullest degrees) for size comparison:

Since it was raining (heavily) when I came home tonight, so I couldn�t really try this lens out properly. I did want to make sure that it worked (always a concern with a electronics purchase on Ebay), so I hooked it up to the digital Rebel and shot a few frames.

This is one taken of the U of I flag, flying on a pole attached to our front porch. I was taken from the second floor window. The Chief is about 2 foot across, and is only a small portion of the flag. And no, the photo is not blurry- that is the color showing through on the linen that gives the picture a slight bit of �fuzziness�.

More from this lens down the road- The Amazing Race has just started.

Yes, I am still watching this reality show with Lease every Tuesday night. It�s the only �reality� show I can stomach, and I really get into the twists and turns the teams face each week.

If you have never given this show a try, I highly recommend it. Even though this �season� is now down to only 6 (I think) teams.

Later�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top