Today's music?

Queens of the Stone Age - "Lullabies to Paralyze" (2005 - Interscope Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 18, 2005 - 4:15 p.m.

Found out what was causing my general feeling of malaise�

My doctor checked my lungs, and came up with the following diagnosis;

Acute bronchitis (I figured that one out before I walked into the office)�

And�

In his words, �A touch of pneumonia in my left lung�.

Sounds like someone describing ingredients for a recipe, doesn�t it? A touch of pneumonia? Goes great on cauliflower with butter and lemon!

So�

Looks like a couple of days off of work for me. I rarely use sick time (which is why I have a crazy amount saved up), so nobody will have a problem with my absence.

Maybe tomorrow, when the yearly plow blade order arrives, I will be cussed. I had a call from the shipper just before I left for the doc�s office this morning. He should be there at sunrise with a trailer full of 4 foot carbide cutting blades on rickety 4�x4� planks.

Hate to miss my yearly adventure in unloading those heavy things�


Yes, I did drag myself into work this morning. It wasn�t easy, because I had about 5 hours of wheezy, restless sleep last night.

Since today was the first day of the Marlboro Man�s reign as Mohall #1, I didn�t want anyone thinking I had the �Blue flu�. Surprisingly, only a couple of guys called in this morning.

I guess everyone has finally just accepted the fact that the best person didn�t get the promotion.

I have.

It�s not like this is the first time (in my 21 years of service) that the wrong person earned a promotion at the Mohall storage.

Hell, the only surprise is this time was they didn�t pick the worst candidate.

THAT they have done a few times before�


I think I figured out the Word� locking-up problem out.

I guess I shouldn�t say that until I finish this entry, eh?

Remember me writing about the troubles I was having transferring my email address book to this newly formatted Dell?

Well�

One of the programs I tried to use to open it was Word� I was just grasping at straws, trying anything that popup up in the �open with� window.

It appears that file was still trying to run in the background whenever I was typing in this program. It had renamed the normal.doc to addressbook.doc (or something similar), and was causing all kinds of conflicts with the software.

At least that was what I could come up with after checking the error message out on the Web. Other people have had similar problems, and by renaming the normal.doc (or deleting it, as I did), they were able to reclaim the use of Word�.

Like I said- we shall see�


Since the doc ordered me to rest, I have been working on sorting out my bookmarks/favorites this afternoon. I am not kiddin� when I say I must have over 2000 websites marked in this manner, in folders from Netscape, I.E., and Firefox. Some of them go all the way back to the mid-90�s, and many of those are linked to dead ends (not a surprise, eh?)

I�m just trying to sort out the 100 or so that I use somewhat regularly, so that they are in somewhat an order.

But in doing this task this afternoon, I have found myself sidetracked by visiting websites that I had long forgotten.

Like this one: The Dead People Server.

Yes, it is a website dedicated (pun intended) to keeping track of famous (and some not-so-famous) people from the fields of entertainment, science, politics, and other areas who have, well, kicked the bucket.

If you have any famous person who you can�t remember if they are dead or alive, this site is for you.

Without going there today, I wouldn�t have heard of the passing of the 1970�s actress with the second best feathered haircut of all time, Debralee Scott:

Just in case you didn�t know who I was writing about, there�s a photo to jog your memory.

I remember her more for Welcome Back Kotter from my youth, but have seen her lately on the many reruns of Match Game playing on The Game Show Network. She must have been on a bunch of �weeks� during her �Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman� years.

She was only 8 years older than me. The obit mentioned that she had been in a coma.

Wonder if her coma started out as �a touch of pneumonia�?


P.S.

CRAP!

I just found out that Rod "The Bottle" Price, lead guitarist from Foghat died late last month! And not from the "Dead or Alive" site above- I clicked on another old link (A "Foghat" index page that was converted to a "in memory of Rod and Dave" site, saved from my Netscape days)

This REALLY BUMS ME OUT!

Foghat has always been one of my favorite bands . Two of their albums (1975's "Fool for the City" and 1978's "Stone Blue"- Lease and I listened to the later while playing pool this weekend!) are on my all-time top ten list, for Crise sake!

How did he die? Head trauma due to FALLING DOWN A FLIGHT OF STEPS!

A quick picture of Rod, taken in 2001:

He was 57 years old, and didn't even merit a mention in the newspaper.

Growing old (and watching your favorite musicians die one by one)sucks...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top