Today's music?

Queens of the Stone Age - "Lullabies to Paralyze " (2005 - Interscope Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Apr. 21, 2005 - 5:44 p.m.

Went back to work today, but�

I probably shouldn�t have done so.

Figured I could just as easily spend the day sitting at my desk, catching up on paperwork (non-strenuous) as sit on the couch watching TV.

I was wrong.

There is always a bunch of catching-up to do whenever I have taken any period of time off, and today was no exception. I had a half dozen sticky notes on my desk with �needs attention� written in various forms on each. There was the usual 10 or so purchase orders that were waiting on me to be entered into the computer payment system.

And none of that got done.

Why?

Simple- finding a Tyvek paper suit was one of the first things I was asked to do by a coworker. This involved me climbing upstairs into the loft above the toolroom to bring one down for him.

When I approached the shelf holding the boxes containing the suits, I noticed something very odd- all of the shelves on the north wall were leaning at about a 25� angle. Further inspection caused me to notice that the filter shelves on this same wall were also leaning at the same 25�, only in the other direction.

Not good.

I looked down at the floor and realized THE SHELVING UNIT HOLDING BOXES AND BOXES OF BOLTS HAD SUNK THROUGH A HOLE IN THE LOFT�S FLOOR!

This is something I have feared ever since I took this job. Even though the loft was constructed with heavy lumber and the shelving units were bolted to the building�s steel beams with threaded rod, there was far too much weight up their. I hade always figured the loft would just collapse while I was standing by the bolts.

Instead, one leg of the unit had just dropped 4� through the floor.

What did this mean to me, you might ask?

For one, it meant I wouldn�t be having an �easy� day at work. We had planned on distributing most of these nuts and bolts to the other 4 counties before the reorganization took place. But since we have 16 months before that is to happen, I was hoping to do it slowly, and only one county at a time.

This just sped up the process.

The bosses knew I was in no shape to do this by myself. After 3 or 4 trips up and down the steps I would have been ready for a tank of O2, if not an ambulance. So they pulled 4 guys from their assigned jobs, and sent them to my aid.

After temp #2 bought us several Rubbermaid� plastic totes (to make carrying the small box easier), we attacked the problem.

5 hours and 4 full pallets later, we were done. I stayed on the ground floor and sorted the boxes so that each county would get their fair share of the booty. Even though I didn�t have to do much of the lifting, I still had several coughing jags come over me.

One good think- the �bedspins� effect I have felt during these coughing fits all week has gone away.

For that I am thankful�


Lease should be home soon, and we are headed out for a dinner cooked by someone else. Don�t know what restaurant right now, but about anything that doesn�t require my efforts in the kitchen sounds good.

I�ll leave you with a couple more photos of spring bulbs blooming on my property.

Yes, I know- you�re getting sick of flower photos. Sorry, but I haven�t been able to take photos of much else the past few days.

This is an overhead shot of one of my favorite tulips (�Black Beauty�). Even though they call this one black, it�s really just a very dark purple. I like the color, whatever it goes by. Here is a close-up view:

Pretty cool, IMHO�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top