Today's music?

Queens of the Stone Age - "Lullabies to Paralyze " (2005 - Interscope Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 22, 2005 - 5:46 p.m.

Photos (taken at work today) to show you the damage�plus- one black and white �project��

So I took the Minolta to work today, just for the purpose of documenting the damage caused by the floor collapse in my loft (wrote about it here yesterday)

Since it is Friday night, I�ll make this short.

The first shot shows why , in my prescription cold drug addled mind, I was able to notice something was wrong:

Yes- something was definitely wrong with my shelving units.

Once I realized what had happened, I went downstairs to see if I could find where the wooden flooring had given way. Wasn�t to hard, once I noticed the fluorescent light fixture had been knocked loose from the ceiling directly below the shelves:

That led to the all day evacuation of about 90% of my nuts and bolts stockpile. Here is a shot showing the 4 pallets I filled for the outlying counties:

Couldn�t really tell if the guys who picked up supplies today were happy to get all of these bolts or not.

Do I care?

No� like one of them said this morning, �A bunch of this will probably come up missing by the end of the day anyway�.

Cynical?

Yes.

But probably true, too.

I plan on buying this type of terminal hardware on a �as needed� basis in the future. With the �term� contracts we have with the vendors, whatever I need at any given time is either available in town, or can be shipped to Mohall by 8 am the next morning. There is really no reason to stockpile items like this anymore.

And now, at least I don�t have to worry about having 4000 pounds of hardware falling through the floor anymore�


Spent a little time playing with my Photoshop Elements program last night.

I picked up a set of colored filters (on eBay) for use in black and white photography. What these filters do when you shoot without color is accentuate one color over another. Say you want the bright red of your car�s paint job to stand out from anything else in a shot. The only way to do this is to use a color filter. If you use a red filter, the red spectrum is allowed to pass through the filter. This would lighten the car�s �color� (grey scale) in the shot. But if you pick a green filter, the end result might be a much darker paint job.

I really don�t totally understand which filter does what, but I plan on learning. If you want to read a better description of color filters effect on black and white photography, this website does a great job of explaining the process

Anyway�

The point I was headed for was that you can also cause this effect with Photoshop Elements.

How it works, I�m not quite sure. I played around with the �levels� feature, messed around with the contrast. I even used a couple of �filter� applications.

Using a photograph I took of the clump of Black Beauty tulips here yesterday, I started out with this:

Not bad, I guess. But I didn�t like the car and house in the background, and I thought it might �pop� if it was changed over to black and white.

So�

Here is what I ended up with, about 20 steps later:

What do you think?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top