Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 04, 2005 - 9:29 p.m.

Frost? This late in the spring?

Yes, a killing frost. Second one in the last 2 nights. Fourth frost warning (with at least some scattered frost reported locally) in the past 10 days.

In other words- the weather has really sucked recently here in Mohall.

Since I only had a few unprotected tomatoes in the ground, I really didn�t loose much. My potato plants were killed back to the soil line, but they will quickly bounce back.

My bedding flats are another story. I had started the hardening off process last weekend, only to have to bring them back inside since Sunday night. The high winds on Sunday really did a number on many of my tomato seedlings. Some have their top leaves wind burned so heavily they have turned brown and have dried up. I don�t know if they will come out of this or not.

I guess I won�t have as many freebies to hand out this year as I usually do.

That means some people will get less that they expect. Some won�t get any at all.

The ones who complained about the varieties I gave them last spring will be in the latter group�


Lease�s miniature rose plants arrived tonight about the time I pulled into the driveway. Purchased from Nor�east Roses, the plants are in full leaf with one even having an open bloom on one of it�s canes.

This company always ships the highest quality roses I have found, and they carry over 100 different varieties of these (easier to grow than tea roses) hardy plants. Since the bushes from Nor�east are comparably priced to the stock at the local greenhouses, they really are a bargain.

Not writing this, trolling for some free roses from them- just wanted to let you know how much I like their plants.

Gotta be even-handed, after all. I�m pretty quick to slam a mail-order business that does me wrong, aren�t I?


Planted the first green beans of the year today. Waited out this last (I hope) cold spell, hoping for highs in the 80�s by Sunday.

The longer I garden, the less I try to rush the seasons. I�ve learned that nature really doesn�t care if you want early harvest�


Only caught 8 White Bass (3 keepers, 5 tiny yearlings) last night, fishing with Moose and his wife on the river. Looks like the spring spawning run might be over. Once they drop their eggs, they head back to the deep waters of B.A.C.E. Lake. Probably won�t find any more of them on the end of my line until early June at the soonest.

I�m just lucky the Moose was willing to share this new (to me) technique to put a few early fish into my skillet. If he hadn�t let me know about this spot, I probably would have spent my last few fishing days trying to find stray (early) crappies instead�


Daily photo?

I forgot about this shot. Took it a couple of weeks ago at the storage. It shows a strange piece of rusty scrap metal someone decided to dump right outside the cold bay service door, with plenty of dandelions blooming around it. Saturated the color a little (I know-pretty obvious).

Nothing special. Just caught my eye, that�s all�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top