Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, May. 07, 2005 - 10:54 p.m.

Another busy weekend, including a wonderful �holiday��

Tomorrow is Mother�s Day.

My least favorite holiday of the year.

If you have been here any amount of time, you know why I hate this manufactured holiday. My mom doesn�t fit any of the flowery cards available on the racks at the local super store.

In fact- I found the least �I admire/worship/adore you� template available on my card program and printed that one for my mom. I think it had something like �Hope you have a day as special as you are� inside.

�Special� can be taken many different ways.

I�ll leave it at that�

Lease and I delivered a miniature rose (purchased from Nor�East roses) that I potted up in a new plastic pot, along with petunia bedding plants (for the window box planter we bought her last Mother�s Day)to my step-mom today. She was ready to leave to pick up her (worthless, soon to be in jail) son for lunch (which she probably paid for herself), so she wasn�t in the mood for us to hang around.

Fine.

We did the right thing, regardless of how it was received.

That�s only 1 of 3 �Mothers� we will deal with this weekend.

Tomorrow?

We will spend most of the day with Lease�s mom (#2). She also has the same problem (finding a non-mushy card, picking out a gift that won�t be insulted) as I do with my mom.

The only difference is I don�t have to spend tomorrow WITH my mom (#3 on the hit parade). I already sent here 2 hanging baskets from a local greenhouse (she lives way down in Kentucky-thankfully) for the �holiday�.

Yes, I will find the time to call her tomorrow. That will be another un-enjoyable conversation (to go with the wonderful exchange I had on Thursday about the arraignments for Codeman�s graduation at the local community college- she can come, but isn�t going to be the center of attention or invited to the reception at our home. Something about cheating on my father when I was 12 with my 6th grade teacher, and then divorcing my father removed her from that picture).

Can you now understand why I don�t enjoy this �holiday/torture�?


As for the mother who lives with me?

Lease, for those not keeping track?

Our boy (Codeman, again for those not keeping track) had a very nice tulip/iris arraignment delivered to her workplace on Friday.

The flowers were nice, but�

The card (with a sentiment composed by the boy himself) made her day.

Weekend, actually.

No, I won�t post it here.

That�s personal.

But I will try to take a photo of the flowers tomorrow. I�ll post that here, if I do.

What do I do for her on Mother�s Day?

Nothing, aside form cooking breakfast. And being there for her, if her mom pulls one of her patented �guilt trips� on her.

Why?

Because that�s what she wants for me to do. She always reminds me that I am not her son, and she isn�t my mother.

If she was? That would be nearly a Michael Jackson level of perversion, considering we have been married for almost 25 years now�


Still have a bunch of photos to edit from last week. No time (have I mentioned that about 75% of my tomato bedding plants are dieing/dead? No, I haven�t. Sucks, by the way) for my yard work, let alone sitting here in front of the computer, playing with Photoshop.

I have one for you, though. It�s a shot of tiny corn plants (sprouting in the field south of the storage), and the one lone pine tree growing on the edge of the field. I can only assume the tree was once growing in front of a farm house, long removed, on this once rural property.

Nowadays, it�s just a lonely old pine surviving between corn and asphalt:


For all of the women out there who make an effort to be a positive influence/ role model/ loving presence in your children�s lives- I wish you a very happy Mother�s Day.

If you are more like the women mentioned above (I doubt you are, if you landed here)?

Look in the mirror. Maybe it�s not too late to see what you have done, and to try to be a positive influence in your children�s lives.

I think it�s too late for the �mothers� in Lease and my lives�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top