Today's music?

Garbage - "Bleed Like Me" (2005 - Giffen Records).. nice comeback by a mid-90's favorite of ours...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, May. 19, 2005 - 10:04 p.m.

Welcome to the Reader�s Digest condensed version of my life (last 6 days edition)�

Just haven�t had time to update this thing.

We have been back from Chi-town since Monday afternoon, and this is the first spot of time I have had to even sit here and compose and entry. I have been editing photographs from our trip, and have even posted a few at my new website at fotothing. Since this D-land �journal� is basically a Photo-blog, maybe that is where I should be updating?

I say this in (somewhat) jest. I have been here at D-land for almost 4 freakin� years now. Not like I would drop this �journal�- I have too much of the last 4 years of my life wrapped up in it.

Even if only a few people stop by nowadays.

Thanks to those that do, btw�

Anyway�

Since Auntie-Mari asked-

Lease liked the inexpensive jewelry I bought her for our anniversary. She had completely forgotten about the horseshoe necklace (from the HBO series �Sex in the City�, about 3 years ago) until she opened the box. And I didn�t give it to her until about 8 pm on the evening of our anniversary.

I gave her the replica necklace (from a website called Emitations) early in the morning. She said she liked it, even though it didn�t come in your choice of initials. You have to be someone famous (or at least a rich drug dealer) to get your bling-bling customized.

Our trip to Chi-town was great, even if it was somewhat short. The White Sox lost (�natch), but we had fun at the ballpark anyway.

Found a decent spot to take a �mirror project� shot leaving the upper deck, too. Can you tell where we are in this shot?

On Fotothing, I even got our location wrong. But we are there, if you look close enough�


We came home Monday, and:

Went fishing in the Hillbilly boat at N.P.P.Lake on Tuesday. The fishing sucked, even though the conditions were perfect. I ended up cleaning 9 decent bluegills. We also caught 8 crappie, although none were large enough to keep.

Managed to sunburn the crap out of my upper legs, too. Old enough to know that I need sunscreen, too stupid to apply it before we left the boat ramp.

Wednesday- stripped down the basement, cleaned everything (including the garage while Lease swept the basement), and applied paint to the basement floor. The can said the paint would be �tack-free� in 24 hours.

36 hours later, it is still sticky. So the basement is still a disaster zone.

That is bad news, because we will be hosting around 30 people here tomorrow night AFTER our boy (Codeman) becomes the first member of our household with a college degree.

Yes, it is only an associates (2 year) degree. Codeman keeps reminding me that it�s no big deal.

Yes, it is.

Even if he stopped now, he would be in line for better paying jobs than either of his parents were (are?) qualified for when we ended our formal education.

He will be attending classes at a very fine private university this fall, with his major to be in computer accounting (or something like that- the sheepskin might just say accounting, but his emphasis is in the computer programming aspects of numbers crunching).

Like Lease just said to me a few minutes ago- 2 major milestones/life experiences in one week (25th anniversary, son graduating for community college). If things go right (fingers crossed), in 2 years we will be celebrating our son�s bachelor�s degree in accounting.

Pretty cool, even if it makes me feel really old right now�


I never watched a single episode of CSI (the original show) before tonight. Lease watches it every week.

But the lure of a 2 hour movie-length show directed by Quentin Tarantino was enough to draw me in.

Worth every minute. Tarantino is a nut job, but if he puts his director status on anything- I�m there.

He pushed the censors about as far as he could with some of the graphic blood and internal organs he splashed on the tube (how about that autopsy that didn�t happen scene?). Even had part of the gore in black and white (probably to escape censure)

Don�t mean I�ll be back next fall watching new episodes. But it made for a riveting 2 hours tonight�


I�ll leave you with one more photo. This one was taken today, and shows a wildflower that is spreading to several locations in my front yard.

Yes, front yard. It got away with avoiding the mower�s blade at first by showing up between several daffodils that I had �naturalized� in the grass. From there, the seeds have spread to at least 5 other spots. I hate to mow them down- they will be done with their lifecycle in about 2 weeks.

So for now, mowing the front lawn is more of an obstacle course than normal:

Each bloom is about the size of an US dime. They look like daisies, but are more likely a member of the aster family.

Maybe I should try to find them online. It would be nice to know what they are, in case anyone stops and asks me about them�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top