Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 29, 2005 - 10:31 p.m.

In comparison, mine is just a minnow, but�

I guess by now, everyone has heard about the enormous Blue catfish caught last week

124 pounds. Like the CNN article says- that�s the size of a 6th grader.

So�

My catch today wasn�t that impressive.

But-

Since I have caught only a (very) few of these catfish in my life, I thought I would share them here:

That shot is of the two fish I brought home. The top fish is a 4 pound Channel catfish. The bottom fish is a (just an ounce or so short of) 8 pound Blue catfish, the same species caught by the guy in Alton Illinois last week.

Of course, his fish was pushing 125 pounds. Mine wasn�t really pushing 10 pounds. (a close up, to show you why they are called "Blue Catfish"

That said�

Today was a challenging day of fishing for Lease and I. She started the day trying for big bluegills (they were spawning along the shoreline). But because I wasn�t keeping any of them, she decided to try to catch the catfish (my goal for the year? To get much better at catching these fish) along with me.

On Friday, I managed to land 2 catfish. Both were Yellow Bullhead catfish, a tiny (4� long) member of this species. Last week on Wednesday, I was only able to land 1 keeper Channel cat.

So this effort hasn�t been going too well.

(A quick aside- most of the people you encounter fishing for catfish are- how do I put this nicely? Not the sharpest tools in the shed. I don�t know if it helps to be �challenged� to catch these fish, but it seems to be par for the course. Since I enjoy eating these succulent fish, I have decided to subject myself to brain cell loss in this endeavor. But I digress�)

But the two large fish I managed to bring to the shore (thanks to the guy down the bank who helped me bring the Blue Cat to my bucket with his landing net) today?

Maybe I�m starting to get the hang of this technique of fishing.

That is my goal- only time will tell�


Today was the third time I have managed to hit the local waters in the last 5 days. With so many species either in the spawn or aggressively feeding, I have had some of the best fishing I can remember in the last few years.

The Crappiesreally aren�t fully spawning yet. Bluegills should hit their beds in a week or two. So should the catfish.

I think the best fishing might be yet to come.

In other words?

I�ll be trying to keep you up-to-date, but might be a day or two behind here at D-land.

If you don�t here from me? Consider that a good sign�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top