Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005 - 7:57 p.m.

An overdue update, with photos�

The garden(s) are really kicking into gear. It�s not because of the weather . It�s still a bit below normal temperatures, and still no rain. We are now at less than an inch of rain over the past 9 weeks! I can�t remember ever dragging the hose out this often this early in the season.

That said�

I harvested 4 nice heads of broccoli yesterday. I finished off one by myself (since Codeman wasn�t here for supper), and gave away the other three at work today.

I have also brought home bunches of radishes over the past few weeks (Lease loves them), plus several nice baby Vidalia onions (used the greens and the small bulbs in salads over the weekend). Rhubarb has been made into a crisp( by Lease) and given away to others that love this oddball plant.

Strawberries have been for sale on street corners in town. Since the rain has been slight, the local berries have been very small. That is actually a good thing, for the same reason bad weather produces good wine grapes- the flavor is condensed into the small fruits, making them rich.

I made a batch of strawberry jam on Monday. Screwed it up a bit, too- I forgot to add the lemon juice (to jack up the ph of the jam). That means the jam can�t be trusted to stay safe on the pantry shelf.

To solve that problem, I have handed out all but 3 of the half-pints to family and friends.

I can always make another batch (a coworker just brought me a huge freezer bag filled with excess frozen strawberries from his in-laws garden).

And this batch will be long gone before anyone has to worry about food poisoning�


Two recent blooms to share:

Yes, after skipping a spring, the (smells like rotten meat) Dracunculus vulgaris bloom again over the weekend.

Even though I told my neighbor that is was going to bloom , she forgot long enough to spend about 20 minutes looking for the �dead animal� she was sure had expired in the shrubs between our properties.

I told her husband I was thinking about planting a 20� border of these bulbs this fall, so we could really �enjoy� their fragrance.

He wasn�t amused�


This is the Echinacea plant that I picked up at the expensive nursery in Collegetown last month. My goal that day was to buy a single Orange Meadowbrite Echinacea. That was the hottest new perennial plant last spring, and I was hoping that the buzz was down enough for a few to be available this spring.

Wrong. They were sold out already.

But they did have another new introduction from the same grower (Chicago Botanical Gardens, I think), Mango Meadowbrite. A �sport� that was found growing in their Orange Meadowbrite beds, this one was described as �the color of a rip Mango, sometimes leaning towards mustard yellow�.

Up until last spring, there were only two colors of Echinacea blooms available- pink and purplish /pink. White, too, but white isn�t a color.

Since the Orange weren�t available, I went ahead and bout the Mango.

It bloomed Monday. The color is really different, and it will be a nice contrast to the common purplish plants we already have blooming in the bed�


Codeman plays his first slow-pitch softball of the year at 9 pm. I�m dead tired, but I think I�ll go anyway.

Haven�t missed many of his games since I started coaching his baseball team when he turned 4, so being tired really isn�t an acceptable excuse to skip a game to me �.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top