Today's music?

Nothing- I'm too tired to load a cd into the D drive...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005 - 10:33 p.m.

All radishes, all the time...

Had a couple of weird fishing trips over the last 3 days. Maybe tomorrow (after I get a little sleep) , I'll let you in on the action.

To get you an idea of what I have been catching- everything we tried to catch weren't cooperating, things we weren't trying for were ending up on our lines, and I haven't used my filet knife since last weekend, even though I have landed several very nice fish.

More tomorrow...

For today:

Purple Plum (on the left) and French Breakfast (right) radishes, harvested from the work garden on Friday.

Lease loves radishes, so I grow lots of them every year. I start a few seeds every week from early March (those don't always germinate) until late September. That way, she has a few for her lunch salad every day of the workweek, and few for munching on for the weekends. I also grow some of the Diakon radishes (the ones, along with Chinese cabbage, used to make Kimche in Korea) during the hottest months, because they can take the high temperatures and still be edible. They end up growing to huge sizes (some are as big around as a baseball bat), and keep well in the ground for a long time. If you like radishes, I highly recommend you try growing these in the hottest months in your region.

Me? I can take them or leave them. The ones that come to maturity in cooler weather are very sweet (compared to the ones in your local Wallyworld), so I eat a few then.

Later this summer, they will be too much for me to take.

And you know I have no problem eating very hot foods...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top