Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jun. 05, 2005 - 9:49 p.m.

Unfortunately, time is still at a premium�

So�

I�ll tell you one fish story (all true, btw).

Thursday.

I left work and ran home long enough to feedthedogstakethemoutsidemakeourlunchesandgrabmytackle, and I was out the door.

I made it to N.P.P.Lake by 4:30. That is some serious ass-hauling by yours truly.

I headed to the bridge where we had caught a few decent catfish over the past few weeks. Brought all I needed to make sure I brought a few more home for the freezer, too ( two kinds of stink bait, heavier tackle, and a bucket to hold my catch).

I fished for 1 � hours, and had a bunch of bites. In that time,. I landed a total of 1 fish.

No, not a catfish.

The one fish dumb enough to get caught on one of my treble hooks was a 5� long Bluegill.

Yes, on stinky, smells like death, dough.

Why?

I have no idea. That had never happened to me before that moment.

But at that point, I had had enough.

So�

I loaded up all my stuff and headed over to the visitors station of the power plant.

I was hoping that a few late-spawning Crappies would be still hanging around the rocks, and that they would hit my jigs.

After another 30 minutes of fruitless casting, I realized that wasn�t going to happen.

I had noticed a few splashes in the shallow water to the west of the rocks, so I decided to
Investigate.

It is a little early for the �gills to be spawning, but that didn�t mean that they weren�t getting ready for the act. The bigger males had already started fighting over prime spawning areas. That was what was causing all the commotion.

So�

I changed my rod over to a shallow Bluegill rig. This consisted of 2 of my tinsel jigs tied about 4� apart, with a small cork less than 6� above the top jig. This rig has really worked good for me on spawning �gills in the past.

In about 40 minutes, I landed about the same number of nice male Bluegills.

And�

2 keeper-sized Channel Catfish.

That�s right- the only thing I caught on catfish dough was a single small Bluegill. And the only keeper-sized (but released, even though one weighed at least 3 pounds- it was getting late at the time) catfish came on a tiny rig that I had set up to catch Bluegills.

Strange fishing indeed�.



(Not a full story, but still a bonus fishing story)


Yesterday, we managed to land the following species of fish:

Bluegill, Carp, White Crappie, White Bass, Yellow Bass, Largemouth Bass, Green Sunfish, and Drum Perch.

If we had kept every fish we landed (even though several would have gotten us tickets from a game warden), we could have fed maybe 4 (very hungry) people.

Strange fishing, indeed�


We bought a nice Amish-made angel food cake yesterday on our journeys. Add to that the ripe strawberries a farm stand had to sell, and the strawberry jam I made last week (but forgot to add lemon juice to, making it low PH and unsafe to store on the shelves downstairs), and with Lease�s creative mind you end up with this:

That�s the overhead view. Here is how it looked from the side:

Sorry if you are presently on a diet, but it is just too pretty not to share with you here.

My slice is waiting for me in the bedroom.

Later�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top