Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 04, 2005 - 5:04 p.m.

It�s the 4th of July everywhere, but since I�m an American, it means a little bit more�

With my nephew J-Rod deployed in Baghdad, this year�s celebrations are a little more reflective for us here at Casa Roadiepig here in Mohall.

All day yesterday (including last night) was spent at Lease�s sister Rubes and husband Sam�s house. The small town they live in have a huge fireworks display (better than the short one Mohall puts on today), and since their house is right across the road from where the fuses are lit, we have the best seat in town.

I took a ton of photos during the 25 minute long show, never once looking into the viewfinder of the Digital Rebel. Instead, I used my tripod, the remote shutter release, and set the camera so that it faced the point in the sky where the explosions occurred.

The shutter speed was set at 1.5 seconds per exposure at the start of the show (at 4.5 f-stops), and I changed up throughout to end the photos at 5 seconds. The autofocus was also turned off (darkness always messes it up anyway), since the subject was well beyond any focal point. I just set the lens at infinity, and took everything that way.

Below are a few of Lease and my favorites.









And my favorite- the wind caused this effect. Doesn�t that look like a bird in the center of the photo (a dove maybe, or eagle)?

Hope you are all having a safe 4th , too. Remember the young folks who are spending this 4th in a foreign land, fighting a war that most people don�t care too much for anymore. Here�s hoping that their 4th is a safe one, too�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top